×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    28

    Running Qt 4.7 apps on Symbian^3

    I am using Carbide (version 2.3.0) to build and am trying to run the example apps given with Qt 4.7.0.

    Every app I run gets a KERN-EXEC 3 error on startup. I've tried the demos, and the mainwindows example app, plus I've also tried creating a blank main window project and running that.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    2,326

    Re: Running Qt 4.7 apps on Symbian^3

    Quote Originally Posted by liz_steel View Post
    I am using Carbide (version 2.3.0) to build and am trying to run the example apps given with Qt 4.7.0.

    Every app I run gets a KERN-EXEC 3 error on startup. I've tried the demos, and the mainwindows example app, plus I've also tried creating a blank main window project and running that.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.

    See the answer from the experts here: http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...n-to-Ovi-store

    Best regards,

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    28

    Re: Running Qt 4.7 apps on Symbian^3

    Does this mean I can't run Qt 4.7.0 on Symbian^3?

    Should I use Qt 4.6.3 instead?

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: Running Qt 4.7 apps on Symbian^3

    Quote Originally Posted by liz_steel View Post
    Does this mean I can't run Qt 4.7.0 on Symbian^3?

    Should I use Qt 4.6.3 instead?
    Are you launching your applications on the phone or in simulator? Naturally Symbian^3 supports Qt 4.7.x, but your testing environment seems not.

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,020

    Re: Running Qt 4.7 apps on Symbian^3

    Did you try to install the Qt Installer sis which came in the /qtXXX/ folder?
    The lines above are the best I have to offer.If anyone of you is of more advanced knowledge, I ask for your patience and understanding! - unknown arab poet
    http://www.tamoggemon.com - Symbian blog - Windows Phone blog
    My other blogs:
    webOS blog iPhone blog BlackBerry blog Samsung bada blog Android blog

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,545

    Re: Running Qt 4.7 apps on Symbian^3

    Quote Originally Posted by liz_steel View Post
    Does this mean I can't run Qt 4.7.0 on Symbian^3?

    Should I use Qt 4.6.3 instead?
    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...n-to-Ovi-store

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    28

    Re: Running Qt 4.7 apps on Symbian^3

    I am launching the emulator (from Carbide). We do have an N8, but it is currently not working, so I can't test on that at the moment.

    I will revert back to 4.6.3 until 4.7 is more stable.

    Thanks,
    Liz.

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: Running Qt 4.7 apps on Symbian^3

    Qt 4.7 is stable.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    506

    Re: Running Qt 4.7 apps on Symbian^3

    even revisions never stable
    Symbian & Qt developer. http://vladest.org

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    28

    Re: Running Qt 4.7 apps on Symbian^3

    OK, I've installed Qt 4.6.3 now (still using Symbian^3) and I'm getting the same problem.

    I create a Qt GUI Main Window project, it builds fine, but when I run it I get a KERN-EXEC 3 error when it tries to create the status bar.

    This is the auto-generated code:

    Code:
        void setupUi(QMainWindow *TestingQt)
        {
            if (TestingQt->objectName().isEmpty())
                TestingQt->setObjectName(QString::fromUtf8("TestingQt"));
            TestingQt->resize(800, 600);
            centralwidget = new QWidget(TestingQt);
            centralwidget->setObjectName(QString::fromUtf8("centralwidget"));
            TestingQt->setCentralWidget(centralwidget);
            menubar = new QMenuBar(TestingQt);
            menubar->setObjectName(QString::fromUtf8("menubar"));
            menubar->setGeometry(QRect(0, 0, 800, 21));
            TestingQt->setMenuBar(menubar);
            statusbar = new QStatusBar(TestingQt); // Crash here
            statusbar->setObjectName(QString::fromUtf8("statusbar"));
            TestingQt->setStatusBar(statusbar);
    
            retranslateUi(TestingQt);
    
            QMetaObject::connectSlotsByName(TestingQt);
        } // setupUi
    Has anyone successfully run a Qt app on Symbian^3? Is there something extra that I need to do to get it working?

    Thanks,
    Liz.

  11. #11
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,020

    Re: Running Qt 4.7 apps on Symbian^3

    Take the problem to the source and ye shall receive.

    Official from a bug report:
    This is I believe because of bug QTBUG-13831 as you are not installing it on C: drive. However, even if you were to install it to C: drive, it wouldn't work as the qt_installer.sis and qt_demos.sis that come with Qt for Symbian (S60) 4.7.0 package are not compatible with N8; those packages are meant only for S60 3.x and 5.0 devices. Since N8 has Qt already preinstalled on the device, updating it will be done via same channels are other phone software.
    So there is not much we can do now. Re 4.7: IMHO it is a LOT better than 4.6.3 was. even though the UI worked better in 4.6.2 still, but I am working on that by reporting bug reports en masse
    The lines above are the best I have to offer.If anyone of you is of more advanced knowledge, I ask for your patience and understanding! - unknown arab poet
    http://www.tamoggemon.com - Symbian blog - Windows Phone blog
    My other blogs:
    webOS blog iPhone blog BlackBerry blog Samsung bada blog Android blog

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    28

    Re: Running Qt 4.7 apps on Symbian^3

    Hi, thanks for the reply, but I don't think this answers my question. This bug seems to be about installing the sis file to the memory card on a phone - I'm trying to build and run a Qt application on the Symbian^3 emulator.

    I removed the status bar, and it runs OK, but as soon as I add anything else to the app (e.g. a button or a menu item) I get the same problem.

    Is there anyone out there who has managed to get Qt building and running with Symbain^3?

    Thanks,
    Liz.

  13. #13
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,020

    Re: Running Qt 4.7 apps on Symbian^3

    AFAIK, QT 4.7 currently is NOT permitted for Symbian^3. What I was told, this CAN NOT be deployed as of this writing.

    If you manage to get Qt 4.7 up and running, you are farther than Nokia wanted you to go.

    Sorry, but this is how it is. I am not responsible for it and can but ask for understanding
    The lines above are the best I have to offer.If anyone of you is of more advanced knowledge, I ask for your patience and understanding! - unknown arab poet
    http://www.tamoggemon.com - Symbian blog - Windows Phone blog
    My other blogs:
    webOS blog iPhone blog BlackBerry blog Samsung bada blog Android blog

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    28

    Re: Running Qt 4.7 apps on Symbian^3

    Right, I've tried a different route now.

    I've installed the latest version of Symbian^3, which has Qt already installed in it. (Version 0.9)

    I'm using Carbide (2.6.0), and I can create a dummy app, however, when I try to build the app, I get the following error:

    process_begin: CreateProcess((null), \epoc32\tools\uic QtTestingOnCarbide.ui -o ui_QtTestingOnCarbide.h, ...) failed.
    make (e=3): The system cannot find the path specified.

    make[2]: *** [ui_QtTestingOnCarbide.h] Error 3

    I've managed to run uic on a command line successfully - it seems that the build process is trying to use "/epoc32/tools/uic" rather than just "uic" - how do I change this?

  15. #15
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,020

    Re: Running Qt 4.7 apps on Symbian^3

    Maybe set a link on OS level? There IMHO is a program for WIndowes which can do this...if you want me, I can look it up for you!
    The lines above are the best I have to offer.If anyone of you is of more advanced knowledge, I ask for your patience and understanding! - unknown arab poet
    http://www.tamoggemon.com - Symbian blog - Windows Phone blog
    My other blogs:
    webOS blog iPhone blog BlackBerry blog Samsung bada blog Android blog

Similar Threads

  1. Qt SDK and Nokia's 'signing Symbian apps for free'
    By Utumno in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-09-17, 05:35
  2. [ANN] Running Adobe Flash and Silverlight in Qt apps
    By AlexLeo in forum News and Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-11-06, 07:04

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •