×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Arendal, Norway
    Posts
    28

    QWebView is blank on my device but loads on the software debugger

    Yesterday i made a simple app for my Nokia N900 with a QWebView widget. I have a N900 so i tried to debug it on the device, but where the software debugger loaded the url nicely the N900 ended up with a blank(white) screen... any idea what this problem might be?

    This is also my first post, so HI ALL

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    777

    Re: QWebView is blank on my device but loads on the software debugger

    This is also my first post, so HI ALL
    welcome to DIBO family...

    .. so i tried to debug it on the device, but where the software debugger loaded the url nicely the N900 ended up with a blank(white) screen
    have you tried it without debuging?

    ..N900 ended up with a blank(white) screen
    you mean, n900 is restarting?

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Arendal, Norway
    Posts
    28

    Re: QWebView is blank on my device but loads on the software debugger

    Thanks for the welcome

    It is not restarting.

    Ill explain:

    1) Debugging with the software emulator:
    i click run/debug and the emulator loads my application 100% just fine. QWebView loads the URL that it set on the constructor and I am very happy

    2) Debugging with the device (N900):
    I click run/debug and the software is loaded on my n900 just fine. But the QWebView inside the application dont load anything it seems, it just shows a white (blank) screen. I can quit the debugging and my N900 goes bak to the Mad Developer application screen.
    Doing stuff on my Nokia N900...

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: QWebView is blank on my device but loads on the software debugger

    Is your N900 connected to any kind of network?

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Arendal, Norway
    Posts
    28

    Re: QWebView is blank on my device but loads on the software debugger

    Multiple i guess... wirelessly to my wireless router (has internet access) and the usb to my computer (that also is connected to the internet)

    BUT WAIT: since im using the mad developer and usb thru my computer, i may have to share my internet connection since the usb connection to N900 count as a network connection? i did not think of this possible solution as i thought the N900 would try the wireless as i usually does and always is connected to... am i wrong?
    Doing stuff on my Nokia N900...

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: QWebView is blank on my device but loads on the software debugger

    Quote Originally Posted by Larsey View Post
    Multiple i guess... wirelessly to my wireless router (has internet access) and the usb to my computer (that also is connected to the internet)
    Do you have a proxy enabled?
    What is output of route and ifconfig in N900's console?

    Quote Originally Posted by Larsey View Post
    BUT WAIT: since im using the mad developer and usb thru my computer, i may have to share my internet connection since the usb connection to N900 count as a network connection? i did not think of this possible solution as i thought the N900 would try the wireless as i usually does and always is connected to... am i wrong?
    This will work if your PC enables NAT for N900.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Arendal, Norway
    Posts
    28

    Wink Re: QWebView is blank on my device but loads on the software debugger

    Quote Originally Posted by divanov View Post
    Do you have a proxy enabled?
    What is output of route and ifconfig in N900's console?



    This will work if your PC enables NAT for N900.
    proxy? how do i enable that?
    Doing stuff on my Nokia N900...

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: QWebView is blank on my device but loads on the software debugger

    Quote Originally Posted by Larsey View Post
    proxy? how do i enable that?
    I meant are you behind any kind of firewall, which requires proxy setup?

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Arendal, Norway
    Posts
    28

    Re: QWebView is blank on my device but loads on the software debugger

    i have to test when i get home if internet access over the wirelss is somehow disbled when using mad developer and usb cable. ifso my problem makes sence.

    And no, i dont require a proxy at home. it is just a modem connected to a wireless accesspoint. i surf the internet all the time at home, its ONLY when i develop i get the problem. the range of the problem is unknow, becuase it was first yesterday that i made a application that i debugged to my device that needed webaccess.
    Doing stuff on my Nokia N900...

  10. #10
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: QWebView is blank on my device but loads on the software debugger

    Quote Originally Posted by Larsey View Post
    if internet access over the wirelss is somehow disbled when using mad developer and usb cable
    So any chances we can see route and ifconfig output?

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Arendal, Norway
    Posts
    28

    Re: QWebView is blank on my device but loads on the software debugger

    Via the USB i have
    192.168.1.15 and i have connection via the usb to my computer (QTCreator can debug to my device)

    Via the wireless i have
    192.168.1.120 and i have internet connection when im in my couch surfing the web

    i have not tried to surf the internet WHILE im using mad developer and is connected to my computer.
    Doing stuff on my Nokia N900...

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Arendal, Norway
    Posts
    28

    Re: QWebView is blank on my device but loads on the software debugger

    Ive tested... when i use the USB to my computer and mad developer i have no internett connection, EVEN if im connected to my wireless ap. any workaround this? ive tried to share my wireless connection(since im using the usb) on my computer but the n900 still dont get any access to the internet
    Doing stuff on my Nokia N900...

  13. #13
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: QWebView is blank on my device but loads on the software debugger

    Quote Originally Posted by Larsey View Post
    Ive tested... when i use the USB to my computer and mad developer i have no internett connection, EVEN if im connected to my wireless ap. any workaround this? ive tried to share my wireless connection(since im using the usb) on my computer but the n900 still dont get any access to the internet
    Since you didn't provide requested information, I can only guess that you need to change default gateway to wlan0 interface.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Arendal, Norway
    Posts
    28

    Re: QWebView is blank on my device but loads on the software debugger

    Hmm... how do i do that? Probably whats wrong (because when im using the usb and med developer i have zero internet access while still accessed my wireless at home)
    Doing stuff on my Nokia N900...

  15. #15
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: QWebView is blank on my device but loads on the software debugger

    Quote Originally Posted by Larsey View Post
    Hmm... how do i do that? Probably whats wrong (because when im using the usb and med developer i have zero internet access while still accessed my wireless at home)
    Could you do something for me?
    1. Open XTerminal
    2. Execute
    route > myroutes.txt
    3. Copy myroutes.txt to PC.
    4. Copy content here.

Similar Threads

  1. Unresolved breakpoint when running on device debugger
    By rami75lu in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2012-06-01, 12:40
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-06-13, 14:25
  3. Blank error dialog with on device debugging
    By fullscale in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2007-11-28, 07:33
  4. On Device Debugging Blank Error Dialog E90 Carbide
    By aditya4180 in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-08-24, 16:06
  5. On device debugger
    By vivek_mics in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-12-13, 12:38

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •