×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    9

    Qt simulator & youtube

    Hi,

    I made an app that runs youtube videos in a webview.
    It works perfect on the desktop but nothing happens on the simulator.
    Any help?

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,009

    Re: Qt simulator & youtube

    Regards,
    Shafali

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    9

    Re: Qt simulator & youtube

    Quote Originally Posted by shafali gupta View Post
    thanks,
    i already know how to run a youtube video in a qt app & it worked on the desktop
    but it didn't work on the simulator, i think the problem is that the simulator doesn't support flash
    is there a way to solve this issue?

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    286

    Re: Qt simulator & youtube

    It won't work in Symbian devices nor the emulator/simulator. And the reason as you suspected is that there is no flash NPAPI plugin.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    9

    Re: Qt simulator & youtube

    Quote Originally Posted by jakoskin View Post
    It won't work in Symbian devices nor the emulator/simulator. And the reason as you suspected is that there is no flash NPAPI plugin.
    but Symbian^3 supports flash, doesn't it?

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    286

    Re: Qt simulator & youtube

    Quote Originally Posted by m.nour View Post
    but Symbian^3 supports flash, doesn't it?
    Yes, Nokia Symbian^3 based devices do support flash. IIRC Flash support first appeared on S60 3rd edition devices.
    Problem is that the flash NPAPI plugin used by the browser is only for the browser. Qt uses different kind of loading of the plugins and existing flash plugin cannot be reused.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-06-30, 01:17
  2. Nokia Qt SDK, QT Simulator and virtual keyboards
    By donald@anasim.com in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-05-29, 09:33
  3. [Nokia Qt SDK] Qt Simulator does not update UI
    By pixsta in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2010-05-19, 21:54

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •