Discussion Board

Red face Emulating Symbian S60 2nd Edition Feature Pack 3 on Windows 2000 XP

Hi people,
    this is my first time here, I hope I can write down about this here, else sorry!

I am looking for a software to emulate Nokia N70 on my desktop PC running Windows 2000 Pro (I can find a Windows XP system if needed).
    I need some software to test .SIS application before to install the file on the phone.
    I am not a developer, I just like to test a lot of applications and I would like to install just only the ones that I like and I am sure they works good and are not dangerous for the phone.

I saw the "Symbian SDKs" tools here:
    http://www.forum.nokia.com/Library/T.../Symbian_SDKs/

Is it the tool I need?!
    Can you suggest an other software in the case it's not the tool I need?!

Thank you very much for your help!
    James

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: Emulating Symbian S60 2nd Edition Feature Pack 3 on Windows 2000 XP

Symbian SDKs are including an emulator, which can run application build for the emulator. The device versions are build for device, and thus can not be run in the emulator. Also I'm not aware of any simulator/emulator that could run the device builds in the Windows OS.

Thus I would recommend you to get a test device, and run the apps on it. Just keep it clean, and format the device after each application tests and you should be fine. Anyway, why do you need to test the applciations ?, basically you could verify the developer of the files and that way make sure that they are ok to be used.

Hi, thank you for your infos!

Quote Originally Posted by symbianyucca View Post
    Symbian SDKs are including an emulator, which can run application build for the emulator. The device versions are build for device, and thus can not be run in the emulator.
    Also I'm not aware of any simulator/emulator that could run the device builds in the Windows OS.
    Hmm, I understand.. no known emulator running .SIS builds on Windows OS..