×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    96

    Question Specifying version number in Qt Creator.

    Where can i specify the version number of my application while building sis file in Qt creator?

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    210

    Re: Specifying version number in Qt Creator.

    You do it from the pro file.
    Here is what the pro file looks like for "test app" ver. 1.0.0 This also sets the version # in the smart installer wrapper file (needed for successful submission to OVI).
    Code:
    symbian {
    
     #for screen lock
        LIBS += -lcone \
        -leikcore \
        -lavkon
        TARGET.UID3 = 0x200386B8
        # TARGET.CAPABILITY += 
        TARGET.EPOCSTACKSIZE = 0x14000
        TARGET.EPOCHEAPSIZE = 0x020000 0x800000
    ICON = icon.svg
    #sets vendor name in wrapper and app sis
    vendorinfo = \
    "%{\"VendorName\"}" \
    ":\"VendorName\""
    
    
    #set UID, app name and version for wrapper sis
    DEPLOYMENT.installer_header = "$${LITERAL_HASH}{\"test app Installer\"},(0x2002CCCF),1,0,0"
    
    #set UID, app name and version for sis
    packageheader = "$${LITERAL_HASH}{\"test app\"}, (0x200386B8), 1, 0, 0, TYPE=SA"
    
    my_deployment.pkg_prerules = packageheader vendorinfo
    DEPLOYMENT += my_deployment
    }
    See this excellent article that will be disappearing on dec 16 HERE for a much better explanation.
    Cheers,
    Jon

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: Specifying version number in Qt Creator.

    In your pro file simply specify "VERSION = 1.2.3". (Just be sure to specify all three digits, with two dots, or it won't parse and the build will blow up.)

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    96

    Re: Specifying version number in Qt Creator.

    Quote Originally Posted by danhicksbyron View Post
    In your pro file simply specify "VERSION = 1.2.3". (Just be sure to specify all three digits, with two dots, or it won't parse and the build will blow up.)
    Thank you....

    Can i know about venderinfo field?

    Where can i find details of symbian specfic ,pro file entry details / tutorials?

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: Specifying version number in Qt Creator.

    Unfortunately the stuff is quite arcane, and the documentation (when there is any) is scattered to the four winds. To understand the Symbian-specific stuff you basically need to understand the Symbian package file format.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    210

    Re: Specifying version number in Qt Creator.

    Can i know about venderinfo field?

    Where can i find details of symbian specfic ,pro file entry details / tutorials?
    See the link I posted below.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    96

    Re: Specifying version number in Qt Creator.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Heron View Post
    See the link I posted below.
    There is no link...
    Last edited by pavanputhra; 2010-12-02 at 04:28.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    96

    Re: Specifying version number in Qt Creator.

    How to specifiy different UID3 for sis file and qt smart installer wrapper sis?

    To create smart installer am using Qt creator and using installer_sis as argument for make process.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    30

    Re: Specifying version number/ vendor information in Qt Creator.

    Quote Originally Posted by danhicksbyron View Post
    In your pro file simply specify "VERSION = 1.2.3". (Just be sure to specify all three digits, with two dots, or it won't parse and the build will blow up.)
    Thanks, sometimes it can be so easy!

    Tried to add vendorinformation too like "Jon Heron" wrote but without success
    I always get "Unknown" as vendorname and Programsize "Unknown" if I install it on my N8

    What about devices like N900?
    Last edited by deepweb; 2010-12-02 at 13:07.

  10. #10
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: Specifying version number/ vendor information in Qt Creator.

    Using VERSION should be the most portable approach. I can't say about the N900, though, since Maemo is an entirely different beast from Symbian. Certainly a Symbian-specific approach won't work.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    30

    Re: Specifying version number/ vendor information in Qt Creator.

    What about vendor information, is the option VENDOR an option in the .pro file for Symbian, or is that to easy?

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    96

    Re: Specifying version number/ vendor information in Qt Creator.

    Quote Originally Posted by deepweb View Post
    What about devices like N900?
    Go to project tab. There expand build tab. There you can specify version number.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    30

    Re: Specifying version number/ vendor information in Qt Creator.

    Quote Originally Posted by pavanputhra View Post
    Go to project tab. There expand build tab. There you can specify version number.
    Thanks!
    B.t.w. in the latest Qt Creator 2.1.0 RC you will find this option in under the RUN tab.
    In other words: Go to Projects Tab, Select Maemo, Select Run and expand the Create Package by clicking in the details button.

    P.S.
    Maybe is't an idea to add this option for Symbian too, makes live so much easier!

    P.S.
    Still missing Vendor information....

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    210

    Re: Specifying version number in Qt Creator.

    The link is the blue bold word "HERE" in my post below, here it is again HERE.
    In my experience the vendor info doesn't show up until after it gets signed, for whatever reason. In any event you need to add more than just the vendor info section in order for it to work.
    Code:
    ICON = icon.svg
    #sets vendor name in wrapper and app sis
    vendorinfo = \
    "%{\"VendorName\"}" \
    ":\"VendorName\""
    
    
    #set UID, app name and version for wrapper sis
    DEPLOYMENT.installer_header = "$${LITERAL_HASH}{\"test app Installer\"},(0x2002CCCF),1,0,0"
    
    #set UID, app name and version for sis
    packageheader = "$${LITERAL_HASH}{\"test app\"}, (0x200386B8), 1, 0, 0, TYPE=SA"
    
    my_deployment.pkg_prerules = packageheader vendorinfo
    DEPLOYMENT += my_deployment
    }
    See how the vendor info and package header info is added to the my_deployment variable which is then added to DEPLOYMENT at the bottom of the code above. The link I posted will clear it all up for you.
    This does work and it is what I used in an app currently published to OVI and another that's in the queue now...
    It sets the UID for the wrapper and the sis as well as the version number for the wrapper and the sis. If the wrapper version and the sis version are not identical it will fail the OVI QA, I am speaking from experience on that one! Also if your about screen in the app version number is not identical to these two it will also fail the Qa...
    Cheers,
    Jon

  15. #15
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: Specifying version number in Qt Creator.

    Why is all the Symbian documentation going away??? (Bad enough that it was rendered inaccessible about 6 months back,)

Similar Threads

  1. How to change Symbian app name and version in Qt Creator?
    By Sasler in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2011-12-21, 11:17
  2. Qt Creator update deletes QT Creator
    By arttu76 in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2011-06-08, 10:45
  3. create debian package from Qt Creator (Mac version 1.0.1 beta)
    By ovjo12 in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-10-06, 20:15
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2010-07-14, 14:58
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-12-18, 11:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •