Discussion Board

Regular Contributor

Allocating variable from the stack and passing the variable as a parameter to object

Hello,

I am fairly new to C++. Could someone tell me if following code is safe.

Code:
    void MyView::myMethod()
    {
        QPixmap myPixmap(":/images/up.png");

someButton = new MyCustomButton(myPixmap,this);
    }

MyCustomButton::MyCustomButton(const QPixmap &pixmap, QWidget *parent)
        : QWidget(parent), m_pixmap (pixmap)
        {
        m_pixmap = pixmap;
        }

class MyCustomButton: public QWidget
        {
        private:
            QPixmap m_pixmap;
    }

I am worried that the pixmap data is corrupted, because it is allocated from the stack, not heap. Does the MyCustomButton instance make a copy of the pixmap when instance is constructed?

-FoL

Regular Contributor

Re: Allocating variable from the stack and passing the variable as a parameter to obj

It seems that it is safe, because reference counter is increased by one in MyCustomButton constructor.

http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.7/implicit-sharing.html

Does anyone know if the QPixmap data is allocated from the heap or stack? I am worried that application run out of memory , if I create many QPixmap variables without allocation them *explicitly* from the heap.

Re: Allocating variable from the stack and passing the variable as a parameter to obj

as general practice, you should create it on heap, rather than on stack
    http://kunalmaemo.blogspot.com/

Super Contributor

Items like QPixmap have copy constructors, et al, and can be safely passed as ordinary parameters (reference or not) and copied with simple assignment. In reality they consist of a small anchor object that contains a reference-counted pointer to the heap-allocated "mother" object, so while assignment isn't extremely efficient, it's not all that inefficient either.