×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    200

    J2ME to BlackBerry

    Hello Friends,
    I'd made an application in J2ME in low level UI using Canvas.
    I want to convert this source code in BlackBerry MIDLet.
    So i can run my source code (application) on BlackBerry devices.

    So please tell me how i can do this.
    thanks & Regards.
    Nilesh

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    79

    Re: J2ME to BlackBerry

    Have look here and download the eclipse plugin. Just import your application and build. Sounds easy but maybe you have to change some things in your source code, but it won't be a lot...

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    814

    Re: J2ME to BlackBerry

    i should pretty much run out of the box (theoretically). however, for network and many other stuff, you will need a blackberry signature. (plus the tools as benni said). make sure you don't have hardcoded references to the screen size, too. and remember there is no soft key on a blackberry.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    200

    Re: J2ME to BlackBerry

    Thanks...friends for reply...
    Actually i do not give any hardcore size to canvas
    But ...my all application depends upon keypress,keyrelease,keyrepeat..event....
    So i'm confuse ,cause i do not use any action event......i want event like above events...
    is there any way to call keyevents ...??????
    thanks & Regards.
    Nilesh

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    814

    Re: J2ME to BlackBerry

    key events are called the same way on a blackberry, since it _is_ midp. you will receive keyPressed like you receive it on your regular nokia.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    200

    Re: J2ME to BlackBerry

    Quote Originally Posted by njzk2 View Post
    key events are called the same way on a blackberry, since it _is_ midp. you will receive keyPressed like you receive it on your regular nokia.
    means....is there any changes to do...?
    thanks & Regards.
    Nilesh

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    814

    Re: J2ME to BlackBerry

    shouldn't.
    but you won't know for sure until you actually try.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    200

    Re: J2ME to BlackBerry

    Quote Originally Posted by njzk2 View Post
    shouldn't.
    but you won't know for sure until you actually try.
    i tried....but i cant receive any keyevents......with same source code...
    i'm beginner in BlackBerry....
    thanks & Regards.
    Nilesh

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    214

    Re: J2ME to BlackBerry

    Quote Originally Posted by nyerunkar View Post
    i tried....but i cant receive any keyevents......with same source code...
    i'm beginner in BlackBerry....
    Hi Nilesh

    You try coding in BB like this

    public void keyPressed(int keyCode)
    {
    super.keyPressed(keyCode);
    //#ifdef RIM
    //# if(keyCode == BlackberryKeyConstants.BACK_KEY)
    //# {
    //# dispatcher.fireActionEvent(new ActionEvent(this, EventConstants.SHOW_HOME_SCREEN));
    //# }
    //# if(keyCode == BlackberryKeyConstants.MENU_KEY)
    //# {
    //# dispatcher.fireActionEvent(new ActionEvent(this, EventConstants.SHOW_HOME_SCREEN));
    //# }
    //#endif

    }
    which wld help u convert the code to BB

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    200

    Re: J2ME to BlackBerry

    Quote Originally Posted by kumarv75 View Post
    Hi Nilesh

    You try coding in BB like this

    public void keyPressed(int keyCode)
    {
    super.keyPressed(keyCode);
    //#ifdef RIM
    //# if(keyCode == BlackberryKeyConstants.BACK_KEY)
    //# {
    //# dispatcher.fireActionEvent(new ActionEvent(this, EventConstants.SHOW_HOME_SCREEN));
    //# }
    //# if(keyCode == BlackberryKeyConstants.MENU_KEY)
    //# {
    //# dispatcher.fireActionEvent(new ActionEvent(this, EventConstants.SHOW_HOME_SCREEN));
    //# }
    //#endif

    }
    which wld help u convert the code to BB
    Thanks........friend
    thanks & Regards.
    Nilesh

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    200

    Re: J2ME to BlackBerry

    Hello friends,
    I tried & do some porting for Blackberry app.
    But i want keycode of Menukey & Back key
    as well as ..... how i can disable action of this keys.
    thanks & Regards.
    Nilesh

  12. #12
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    814

    Re: J2ME to BlackBerry

    those don't have keycode and cannot be caught nor disabled. (the back key is automatically assigned to a Command.BACK type Command if you use LCDUI screens)

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    200

    Re: J2ME to BlackBerry

    so is there any way to assign soft key..to black berry like options & back (normally we see in nokia apps)
    thanks & Regards.
    Nilesh

  14. #14
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,569

    Re: J2ME to BlackBerry

    You will most probably find more RIM BlackBerry knowledge on RIM's BlackBerry developer forums, rather than on a Nokia forum.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    200

    Re: J2ME to BlackBerry

    Quote Originally Posted by petrib View Post
    You will most probably find more RIM BlackBerry knowledge on RIM's BlackBerry developer forums, rather than on a Nokia forum.
    I know ,But my application is develop in j2me & i know i get better help than RIM forum...
    my problem is finally solve......
    thanks & Regards.
    Nilesh

Similar Threads

  1. what is the difference between J2ME, blackberry and android
    By saran.tli in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2010-09-25, 00:34
  2. J2me application run in BlackBerry!
    By ajitkumar26 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-05-13, 15:25
  3. Captcha for J2ME/Blackberry
    By mayankkedia in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-05-12, 21:47
  4. how can i port j2me app for nokia, sony ,motorola and blackberry
    By mayurvihaar in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-02-18, 05:16
  5. Porting BlackBerry: Carbide & J2ME Comparison.
    By skynetchris in forum Symbian
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-05-22, 07:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×