Discussion Board

Question UX/ UI design: How to know what is included in copyright of an application

Hello,
    I am a Mobile application development newbie. I get inspired by the UX / UI concepts from non Nokia mobile platforms and am very eager to introduce them in the form of plugins to Nokia's standard apps on the device. It might be difficult to draw a line on what is exactly copying and just being inspired in doing the UX / UI design. My main question here is who takes the responsibility in ensuring that the IP or copyright of some other app developer / mobile OS maker is Not infringed in the UX of a new app being introduced to Ovi store? Is it something that the developer should take care of? Or will Nokia take that Burden off from developer (because from my knowledge it is almost impossible for the developer to be accurate in these things).

Since I am not sure whether this question belongs to this forum, I will post this to also Ovi forum.

Cheers,
    SunshineSuomi

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: UX/ UI design: How to know what is included in copyright of an application

Generally, developers should take care of IP and copyrights. anyway, have you got some specific examples on where the line in your opinion would not be clear enough ?

Super Contributor

Re: UX/ UI design: How to know what is included in copyright of an application

If you develop something yourself from "scratch", then you own all the copyrights, intellectual property rights (IPR) to everything you create (or if you do it under a contract for someone else, and the contract says that who ordered the work from you owns the copyrights or intellectual property rights, then they own it).