Discussion Board

Detecting USB power up event in j2me.

Hello, I am new to this forum, but not new to programming. However, I am somewhat new to j2me specific programming. I have not written any fully fledged j2me applications yet, but have written various test programs to see how things work. fun.

Currently I have a problem. I want to use my cellphone to monitor an external device. The cellphone only needs to respond to a 5 volt signal ( on signal ) coming from that device. I have been playing with the USB port on my Nokia. I see that if you apply 5volts power to the nokia's usb port by the power connectors it will respond to it and attempt to communicate with whatever was plugged into the usb port. Thats really what I want, I want my j2me program to detect this event. USB power received event, or in other words: plugged in event. I have been looking at the j2me API's and have been unable to find anything yet that will work for this kind of thing. If it would be possible to read the state of the usb port at any given time then that would also work. Like if you can read its RX and TX lines, just to see if they are 0's or 1's. As I say I only need to read an on or off from an external device. I don't need a fully fledged communications set up with the device. This is really a very low level thing. But if I an use a higher level interface that will work then thats great.

Would anyone please give a code segment that would work or that I can try. I want this to work on a Nokia 2710 and the older Nokia 7210 supernova.

thanks

Re: Detecting USB power up event in j2me.

Firstly, Warm Welcome to Forum Nokia Dibo:-)

Hope you would be some of interest in reading this article with example....
    MIDP: Using Cable Connection In Nokia Devices (With Example)
    http://www.forum.nokia.com/info/sw.n..._v1_0.zip.html

Hi kis_spn and other readers, Thanks for your input.

I have already looked at that code and tried it. However, no serial ports are detected by this line: