×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    4

    Angry How can i access the magnetometer (compass) sensor on E72 ?

    i use s60 5th edition SDK.
    i added JSR256 to my libraries.
    i can see only 2 acceleration sensors.
    one gives me x_axis data and the other give me Y_axis data.
    i know for sure magnetometer HW exist in nokia E72, and i have APP which uses it.
    So way cant i see it in the sensor infos?

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    7,395

    Re: How can i access the magnetometer (compass) sensor on E72 ?

    E72 is S60 3rd Edition FP2. It does not support JSR 256.

    The app you have seen is probably a native, Symbian application, not Java.

    I recommend you use the SDK appropriate to your device.

    Graham.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    4

    Re: How can i access the magnetometer (compass) sensor on E72 ?

    Is there any way to access the magnometer with S60 3rd Edition FP2 ?
    with JSR256 i could access accelometer sensors.
    what is the language for native Symbian application ?

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    814

    Re: How can i access the magnetometer (compass) sensor on E72 ?

    like graham said, there is no way to use jsr256 on a s60 3rd edition FP2.
    Native application for s60 3rd FP2 are developped in Symbian C++ or Qt.
    you may also take a look at python

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4,104

    Re: How can i access the magnetometer (compass) sensor on E72 ?

    JSR-256 works in S60 3rd Edition Feature Pack 2, however, not all sensors are bridged into the world of Java.

Similar Threads

  1. How can i access the magnetometer (compass) sensor on E72 ?
    By elida1@gmail.com in forum Geolocation and Navigation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-01-23, 15:39
  2. Reading data from Magnetometer or Compass causes error
    By Ghal_Maraz in forum [Archived] Qt Mobility Project
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-12-21, 06:21
  3. Accelerometer Sensor and Compass access from java MIDlet
    By ahha7 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-12-16, 14:05
  4. How to get compass sensor information in WRT?
    By tazzix in forum Symbian Web Runtime
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-07-14, 13:07
  5. 5140i magnetometer compass
    By aBrage in forum Mobile Web Site Development
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-03-22, 16:31

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •