×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2

    FlashLite 3 Error on Nokia Symbain ^3 Platform

    Hi Guys,

    I am new to the Nokia Forum. I hope some could help.

    My company received a contract to develop a simple maze game, which we have completed but we are receiving an Memory Error on the Nokia N8 / C7 (Symbian ^3).

    Let me try to explain from the beginning, we first developed this game for the S60 5th Edition (touch screen devices) which works beautifully, we were then asked if we could test this game on this Symbian ^3 mobile devices, which we did and the game worked just as good. We then added the last final touches to the game with some keyframe animations (Bitmap), and this is where the problems started. On the S60 Devices, the game still works fine, but now on the Symbian ^3 devices we are recieving memory errors when the keyframe animations start playing. I have tried bascially everything under moon by playing with publishing settings but I am still unsuccessful. I am aware that it is not recommend to use bitmap images but these images are small. I also did not recieve any errors on Device Central Nokia N8 emulator. I am so confused what could be the problem!

    The swf file is about 2MB, and the packaged SIS file is about 1.1MB.

    I assume that if this game can work on the S60 5th Edition mobile devices, it should then work on the Symbian ^3.

    Please if someone can help, we would really appreciated it.

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    517

    Re: FlashLite 3 Error on Nokia Symbain ^3 Platform

    Ciao,

    one thing to check the ammount of memory used even if it should be enough.
    One more thing to try is to start from the base game add other assets one at the time while testing each phase.

    Alessandro

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2

    Re: FlashLite 3 Error on Nokia Symbain ^3 Platform

    Hi Alessando,

    Thanks for the reply. I did try to load the assets one at a time but there wasn't much difference in memory usage.

    I did manage to fix the problem thoughj. The problem was the images resolution that I was importing, the images resolution was 640 x 360, BIG MISTAKE!! What I did find is that the smaller the resolution, the samller the memory usage. I did resize the images to 320 x 240, and it seems to work fine now.

    Thanks Alessando for assistance.

Similar Threads

  1. Flashlite on Nokia
    By hiteshrawat in forum [Archived] Flash Lite on Nokia Devices
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2009-08-14, 12:03
  2. 'Pushing' info to a FlashLite App on a Nokia Device
    By scottpatrickwright in forum [Archived] Flash Lite on Nokia Devices
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-05-06, 17:33
  3. Is Flashlite the platform to use?
    By jockhalliday in forum [Archived] Flash Lite on Nokia Devices
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009-04-12, 11:29
  4. Create Flashlite 1.1 platform game for "Nokia"
    By narender_raul in forum [Archived] Flash Lite on Nokia Devices
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-01-03, 13:04
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-07-10, 12:27

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •