Discussion Board

General OS-related error

Hi!
    I try to debug my apps in my Nokia and i get this error:
    Impossible d'installer à partir du package C:\Data\Converter.sis sur l'appareil mobile : General OS-related error
    I need some help. I'm a beginner on Qt

Nokia Developer Expert

Re: General OS-related error

You should turn your device in english mode first, and then use the filemanager and click the C:\Data\Converter.sis on the device. That would start manual installation that would give you better idea on what is going on.,

Or try unchecking the "Silent installation" box from the symbian-build settings for the project.

Then the i nstallation process would give you better readable error note.

I have also struggled with this lately. I have found out that the sis package does install ok but the app can't be launched remotely. The same problem is also when you try to launch the app with runonphone. The app works ok when you start it manually by clicking the app icon on the device. (Trk is of course running in the device.)

Capabilities might have something to do with this. Just a normal HelloWorld with self-signing works, but if I add more capabilities and sign with R&D cert then I get this same error message.

I'm very interested in hearing the root cause why some apps can be launched remotely and some can't.

Environment: Nokia Qt SDK 1.1 TP with latest updates installed. Qt 4.7.1 and Qt Mobility 1.1 installed to N8, both bundled with Nokia SDK.
    Last edited by jvuori; 2011-02-03 at 18:24. Reason: Added description of the used environment

Hi please i have the same error, did u find the solution ?
    I'm stucked

Nokia Developer Champion

just try removing the tick on silent installation under your projects and build settings. Otherwise simply try to install the sis without Qt Creator you will see some more relevant information.

Quote Originally Posted by nokinok View Post
    Hi please i have the same error, did u find the solution ?