Discussion Board

Regular Contributor

Question Best practices in retrieving a stable time in J2ME application (AT Commands)

Hi,

I'm a J2ME developer which has a huge issue in retrieving a stable time in a J2ME application.

Of course the user can change the phone's time whenever he wants, so that's never an option to retrieve time.
    The 2nd best practice is to sync the time difference with the server, but if there's no connection that also fails to work.

So does anyone have any better practice ? My idea was to use AT commands to get the gsm network time. But i'm not sure how that exactly work and what requirements does the phone need to be able to do it.

Anyone can provide some sample code or a good resource where to figure this out please ?

Regards,
    Kurt

Super Contributor

Re: Best practices in retrieving a stable time in J2ME application (AT Commands)

Why do you dismiss the phone time as a valid option? I would guess very few normal users change the time manually as it is possible to set the time to sync with network time (at least on many phones if not on all)...

What is your use case?

Hartti

Re: Best practices in retrieving a stable time in J2ME application (AT Commands)

There is no AT command to receive the GSM network time. Even if there would be one, you are not allowed to connect to the local AT command interface from J2ME.

Regular Contributor

Hi,

Sorry for a late reply but i wasn't notified about your replies anyway... My use case is that its an application for tracking company's security people so they can't afford that the user changes the time as if he was working at that particular time.

Any ideas ?

I've considered keeping an internal timer to detect the time difference but if for example getting the location takes a bit it might detect a 'change in time' while there wasn't.

Super Contributor

Can't be done in a fully secure/reliable way.