Discussion Board

Symbian^3 Apps Backward Compatibility...

Hey, I'm just a new developer here in the UK. I got my Nokia N8 and wanted to develop an app for it.

My little brother has an N80 (s60v3 device) and some of my friends have the N97 (s60v5).

My question is this: If I make an app for Symbian^3 devices will they install on the older models?

The app is NOT power intensive (just does some simple maths and I'll probably using the default text boxes etc.) but what are the procedures to make distributables for s60v3 and s60v5?

Do let me know on this. That way if I want to publish it on Ovi I can support pretty much every OS

Thanks.

Super Contributor

Re: Symbian^3 Apps Backward Compatibility...

It is possible to develop in Java ME and run your app, not only on other Symbian devices, but also on a wide range of devices from other manufacturers. That's pretty much the point of Java. The distributable files are identical.

Of course, it's not always quite that simple. Differences in screen size, memory size, and processor performance are all potential stoppers to compatibility. Also, differences in the implementation of the API classes. Availability of APIs varies, implementation choices differ, and some implementations are just plain buggy.

It doesn't sound like you're planning anything to really push the devices, so I wouldn't expect too many problems. Testing across devices is the key.

Graham.

Thanks Graham, that explains a lot

I didn't realize that Java for mobile devices was as compatible with pretty much every device as its desktop counterpart

The reason I asked was because I downloaded the Symbian^3 SDK from the Nokia website, and the emulator installed on my PC is the symbian^3 emulator. So the same jar file created for symbian^3 will work for s60v3 FP1 (Nokia N80) and s60v5 just like that? I will only be using Nokia APIs. Please let me know on this!

Thanks.

Super Contributor