×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    94

    Corrupted display in low-memory conditions

    Hi,

    I posted a thread before about Qt message out of memory when rotating device and this is the link of the thread:

    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...237#post811237

    And I mostly believed that it was a result of a memory leak !!! but I noticed that there is a bug on this link:

    http://bugreports.qt.nokia.com/browse/QTBUG-11728

    and I think its very close to my problem, so can anyone help, because till now I didn't find a solution for my "corrupted display" issue ??!!!
    Last edited by Maysoon88; 2011-02-07 at 13:05.

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: Corrupted display in low-memory conditions

    When you get into low memory situations then images begin to fail to draw. This can be due to a memory leak, or due to simply putting 10 pounds of "stuff" in a 5-pound bag.

    The "bug" report is simply reporting a well-known "feechure".

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    94

    Re: Corrupted display in low-memory conditions

    Quote Originally Posted by danhicksbyron View Post
    When you get into low memory situations then images begin to fail to draw. This can be due to a memory leak, or due to simply putting 10 pounds of "stuff" in a 5-pound bag.

    The "bug" report is simply reporting a well-known "feechure".
    Sorry but what does "putting 10 pounds of "stuff" in a 5-pound bag" mean? I didn't get it well

    what could be the mistake in code???

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: Corrupted display in low-memory conditions

    It simply means too much stuff for the amount of heap you have -- sometimes you need to increase the heap size.

    (In the America colloquialism a different word is used in place of "stuff".)

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    94

    Re: Corrupted display in low-memory conditions

    Quote Originally Posted by danhicksbyron View Post
    It simply means too much stuff for the amount of heap you have -- sometimes you need to increase the heap size.

    (In the America colloquialism a different word is used in place of "stuff".)
    I see, but I increased heap size and that was useless!!!

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,209

    Re: Corrupted display in low-memory conditions

    Then either you've got WAY too much "stuff", or you have a storage leak.

    A very common problem is loading large (eg, 3mb) images and then down-sizing them. You can get maybe 3 images loaded before things break.

Similar Threads

  1. Memory card data corrupted in E71! Salvage files?
    By Bei337 in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-10-06, 09:17
  2. DataBase gets corrupted under low memory
    By varunjajee in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-02-05, 12:02
  3. N73 crashes when taking photo under low light conditions
    By hselber in forum Series 40 & S60 Platform Feedback Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-11-02, 16:49
  4. How to display a long text and textbox in low level
    By Basu in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-03-31, 08:02

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×