×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    103

    Call Log in j2me

    Hello,

    I want to make call log in j2me.
    I had tried this:-http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.php/J2ME_API_Bridge_Interface
    But it make my device hang.
    And i had found this -http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.php/MIDP_2.0_API_access_rights
    So can any one please that is is possible call logging in j2me.
    If yes the how is it possible.

    Help me it is urgent
    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Noida, India
    Posts
    3,087

    Re: Call Log in j2me

    Quote Originally Posted by shwetadseema View Post
    Hello,

    I want to make call log in j2me.
    I had tried this:-http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.php/J2ME_API_Bridge_Interface
    But it make my device hang.
    And i had found this -http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.php/MIDP_2.0_API_access_rights
    So can any one please that is is possible call logging in j2me.
    If yes the how is it possible.

    Help me it is urgent
    Thanks in advance.
    By default you do not have any API in J2me to access call logs from the device, hence the only way out is using API Bridge - which may not work on all Java devices for example S40.
    thanks,
    ~Amitabh
    (Champion of the Month -Aug'13)
    Follow me on my blog for Innovative Mobile Apps

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    103

    Re: Call Log in j2me

    thanks for the reply.But is there any way that i can use Bridge API and make call log and sms log.As i had tried to do coding by using apibridge.
    The code which i had implement is as below:-

    import javax.microedition.midlet.*;
    import javax.microedition.lcdui.*;

    import apibridge.*;
    import apibridge.entities.*;
    import apibridge.LocationService.*;
    import java.util.Hashtable;
    import java.util.Vector;
    public class Midlet extends MIDlet implements CommandListener {

    private Command exitCommand = new Command("Exit", Command.EXIT, 1);
    private Command locationCommand = new Command("Location", Command.ITEM, 2);
    private Command CallCommand = new Command("Call Log", Command.ITEM, 3);
    private final TextBox tbox = new TextBox("Results:", "", 3000, 0);
    private APIBridge bridge;

    public Midlet() {
    }

    public void startApp() {
    System.out.println("startapp");
    tbox.addCommand(exitCommand);
    tbox.addCommand(locationCommand);
    tbox.addCommand(CallCommand);
    tbox.setCommandListener(this);
    Display.getDisplay(this).setCurrent(tbox);
    bridge= APIBridge.getInstance();
    bridge.Initialize(this);
    }
    public void pauseApp() {
    }

    public void destroyApp(boolean unconditional) {
    }

    public void commandAction(Command cmd, Displayable disp) {
    System.out.println("commandAction");
    if (cmd == exitCommand) {
    destroyApp(false);
    notifyDestroyed();
    }
    if (cmd == locationCommand) {
    System.out.println("LocationCommand");
    getLocation();
    }
    if (cmd == CallCommand) {
    System.out.println("callLogCommand");
    getCalllLog();
    }
    }

    private void getLocation()
    {
    System.out.println("Retrieving location values ...");
    tbox.setString("Retrieving location values ...");
    final LocationService service = (LocationService) APIBridge.getInstance().createService("Service.Location");
    Thread thread = new Thread()
    {
    public void run()
    {
    try
    {
    BridgeResult res = service.GetLocation();
    Hashtable returnValue = (Hashtable)res.getReturnValue();
    tbox.setString("Longitude: " + returnValue.get("Longitude").toString() + "\nLatitude: " + returnValue.get("Latitude").toString() + "\nAtitude:" + returnValue.get("Altitude").toString());
    }
    catch(BridgeException ex)
    {
    tbox.setString("Bridge error occured - unable to retrieve data. " + ex.getMessage());
    }
    // catch(Exception ex)
    // {
    // tbox.setString("General error occured - unable to retrieve data. " + ex.getMessage());
    // }
    }
    };
    thread.start();
    }
    private void getCalllLog() {
    System.out.println("Retrieving phone numbers ...");
    tbox.setString("Retrieving phone numbers ...");
    final LoggingService service = (LoggingService)bridge.createService("service.logging");
    Thread thread = new Thread() {
    public void run() {
    try {
    BridgeResult res = service.GetList();
    System.out.println("bridgeresult==="+res);
    Vector returnValues = (Vector) res.getReturnValue();
    System.out.println("bridgeresult==="+returnValues);
    String out = "Result: \n";
    for (int i = 0; i < returnValues.size(); i++) {
    System.out.println("BridgeResult CallLog");
    Hashtable item = (Hashtable) (returnValues.elementAt(i));
    out += "PhoneNumber: " + item.get("PhoneNumber").toString() + "\n";
    }
    tbox.setString(out);
    } catch (BridgeException ex) {
    tbox.setString("Bridge error occured - unable to retrieve data. " + ex.getMessage());
    } catch (Exception ex) {
    tbox.setString("General error occured - unable to retrieve data. " + ex.getMessage());
    }
    }
    };

    thread.start();
    }
    }


    But i got an BrigdeException in this line BridgeResult res = service.GetList();
    Please help me.

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    103

    Re: Call Log in j2me

    Is there any update on it.Call log in j2me is possible or not.
    if it is possible then how.
    Please help me if anyone had faced this ans kow the solution.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    22

    Re: Call Log in j2me

    Hello shwetadseema, I am facing same problem here. I don't know how to use this API on ecclipse. Can u send me the program what ever u made. pls if u can send me here as well as on my mailID akash.2429@gmail.com. Thanks in advance.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    22

    Re: Call Log in j2me

    Hello shwetadseema, APIBridege is working in nokia phones. But it's not working in j2me. If u will get the answer of this problem pls share with me. It's urgent.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    22

    Re: Call Log in j2me

    Hello im2amit sir, actually i did use this API but it working on nokia phones only. Pls suggest me what should I do for j2me enabled phones. pls sir it's urgent.
    or I wana create contact group in j2me. how can i create. is there any API to create contact group. or provide me any link..

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: Call Log in j2me

    PraveenRaj, please ask your question one time only - please do not post multiple messages in different threads. Thank you!

    http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...idge_Interface

    Hartti

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    22

    Re: Call Log in j2me

    Quote Originally Posted by hartti View Post
    PraveenRaj, please ask your question one time only - please do not post multiple messages in different threads. Thank you!

    http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...idge_Interface

    Hartti
    Sorry for this sir, But again I am saying that this J2ME_API_Bridge_Interface is use in nokia mobiles only. I did use this API.Is there any another way to solve this problem. and I also want to create contact group pls send me some useful site or simple program. Again I am saying sorry for that.

  10. #10
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: Call Log in j2me

    Correct
    API Bridge works on Symbian / S60 phones only.
    On other Java ME enabled phones (including Series 40 phones) there is no way to achieve this. Sorry.

    Hartti

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    22

    Re: Call Log in j2me

    Thnks for reply hartti sir, actually I am working in a company in delhi. This is requirement of client. What should I do n what I have to say my boss. pls send me some link related to create contact group.

  12. #12
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: Call Log in j2me

    Say to your boss that it is impossible to read the call log using Java ME. Your boss then needs to tell this message to the client, and the client needs to change their requirements.

    Sorry, I do not know if one can create contact groups using it - I have not studied it enough. According to Nokia developer library the API supports groups, but I did not find details how exactly
    http://library.developer.nokia.com/t...D0809B7E2.html
    http://library.developer.nokia.com/t...56B788309.html

    There are number of code examples about how to use PIM API available here
    http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu.../Data_Articles
    Check if you can find something useful

    Hartti

Similar Threads

  1. Assess Call log in j2me
    By bfchaudharimca in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2011-12-18, 20:24
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-09-16, 12:20
  3. call log in j2me
    By kis_spn in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-08-10, 16:35
  4. changing outgoing call parameters in call log
    By reuvenb in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-01-20, 15:58

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×