Discussion Board

building symbien kernel

hi ..,
    i'm new to symbian development & i'm trying to build a symbian kernel .. from the open source provided by symbian last year .. but i'm getting this error

Creation Time Description Resource Path Location Type
    1301907701742 make[1]: *** No rule to make target `\S60\devices\S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1.0\EPOC32\BUILD\Users\M.3ssaf\Desktop\TOOLBOX\Kernel_Taster_Kit_for_SEE_2009\see_kernel_kit\sf\os\kernelhwsrv\kernel\eka\EKLL\WINSCW\EKLL.WINSCW'. Stop. eka line 0 C/C++ Problem

any ideas how to fix it ..

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: building symbien kernel

The Console view may contain more complete story about the problem.
    Note that the Symbian^3 kernel will unlikely build with an S60 5th (=Symbian^1) SDK. SDK is for building applications for an already built OS.
    Check if the Taster Kit contains documentation about building, if it could really build for Windows, or for ARM only (which can be tested with QEMU).

well .. the taster kit doesn't include any documentation .. only the source files & the build files ..
    sorry i didn't get that right .. what i got is that the SDK is for an existing running OS ..
    if so ... what do i need to use these files to build the OS ?????????????????????

A Google search for symbian kernel taster kit brings this result (it is the cached version, original is not available): http://webcache.googleusercontent.co...www.google.com
    based on it, I think it is version intended for usage with QEMU.
    Note that although http://symbian.org is closed, Nokia started a new site recently, http://symbian.nokia.com, that is where these kind of things may appear (though I have not checked what it contains now).

well ... thanks for helping ..,
    i read about QEMU and i found that there's a tool called iMaker used to build ROMs' ..
    all i could find is a user guide .. but i couldn't find a download link ..
    i was wondering if you know where can i get the S60 iMaker ....,