Discussion Board

Mobile application development Beginners

Hi ,

i am new to mobile programming.
    Can anybody tell me how do we deploy software to the actual phone?

Nokia Developer Champion

Re: Mobile application development Beginners

tell me what platform you are using

i am using j2me.

Super Contributor

Put it for download on a web server, and use the phone's web browser to go to the URL of the app (.jad file).

Or: Copy the installation file to the phone using Bluetooth, and install if from the phone Inbox.

Or: Copy the installation file to a memory card, put the memory card in the phone, and launch the installation via a file manager, or the phone's application installer.

Or: Use Nokia PC Suite or Ovi Suite to install the app from a PC.

Or: Email the file as an attachment to an email address that you have configured the phone to access.

thanks petrib.

some more questions. :--

actually i am working on my final year project which is based on j2me. Its an application which is based on security of local data in the phone.

-what are the basic things we need to know to start learning j2me.?
    -to make a project in j2me ,what are the important topics that i must focus on?
    -and what do we need to know to have a JDBC connectivity between a computer a mobile phone.

waiting for the reply,
    ashlesha

Super Contributor

Start here: https://www.forum.nokia.com/Develop/...tting_started/

See also: http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.php/Category:Java_ME

And for specific issues, search the discussion boards for existing threas on the subject first: http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...?search_type=1

There are also books and tutorials about J2ME that you can easily find on the net by using, e.g., Google.

thanks very much sir.

Actually , my project is based on an application in which a sensitive data is stored on the RMS of a java enabled phone.