Discussion Board

WRT examples not working on Nokia Web App Simulator v1.2.0 & some newbie questions.

Hi, I'm new to Nokia development and having a few issues with some of the examples I've been going through.

First I downloaded the AccuWidget and RouteWidget examples. Both were not displaying correctly in the Web App Simulator Tool. I discovered that the problem was with the javascript links. The links had self closing tags "/>" instead of </script>. Changing these tags fixed the content display issues. I was then able to get the RouteWiget example working in S60 5th Emulator with positioning simulation.

1) Are you able to test location/GPS based apps and positioning simulation with the web app simulator tool or do you have to use the emulator?

2)Are you able to debug JavaScript in the emulator?

I read the article "Reacting to the changes in screen size in WRT" and downloaded the example. reacting_to_orientation_changes.zip.
    The text on the screen just displays "Home screen activated" instead of changing according to the screen resolution and orientation.

3) Any ideas why this example works fine in the emulator and not with the app simulator tool?

4) My understanding is that WRT run on S60 3rd, S60 5th and Symbian^3 devices only. Is this correct?

5) What are all the screen resolutions I have to be concerned with when developing WRT apps?
    WRT 1.0 > 360x640, 800x352, 320x240, 240x320
    WRT 1.1 > 360x630, 320x240, 240x320
    Is this correct?
    Those are the only available options in the web app simulator.
    Last edited by B.Adams; 2011-04-26 at 13:51.

Regular Contributor

Re: WRT examples not working on Nokia Web App Simulator v1.2.0 & some newbie question

please see comments below,

Quote Originally Posted by B.Adams View Post
    Hi, I'm new to Nokia development and having a few issues with some of the examples I've been going through.