×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    27

    how to determine Symbian version?

    Hello,

    Is there a way to find out what version of symbian (1 or 3) Qt app is running on?

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    183

    Re: how to determine Symbian version?

    See QSysInfo

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: how to determine Symbian version?

    have you tried QSystemInfo::version with QSystemInfo::Os

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    362

    Re: how to determine Symbian version?


  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    27

    Re: how to determine Symbian version?

    Unfortunately this is a Symbian C code, so not really usable. QSystemInfo indeed provides OS information thanks!

    now a follow-up question - can i determine it in .pro file? As S^3 needs more heap? Or can i change heap size on runtime somehow?

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    362

    Re: how to determine Symbian version?

    Hi,

    Sorry for my initial answer; although for some cases it still might be valid.

    Defining it in .pro file would be unusable since it's for build time only.

    There is a way of doing separate build for S^3 and then manually make the .SIS file to use different build for it. But I would not recommend you do this as it complicates your whole development process.

    Is there a downside for asking for more heap anyway?

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ahmedabad, India
    Posts
    37

    Re: how to determine Symbian version?

    Quote Originally Posted by dgptapov View Post
    S^3 needs more heap? Or can i change heap size on runtime somehow?

    Hello dgptapov,

    It not possible to increase the Heap Size. Because Heap Size is hard-coded in device VM.
    But you can control the Heap Size of your application. To avoid the out of memory.
    Last edited by Abhishek Khetani; 2011-05-03 at 15:08.
    - AbhisheKhetani

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Vienna, AUSTRIA
    Posts
    7

    Re: how to determine Symbian version?

    hi,

    I wanted to detect Symbian^3 and Symbian^1 (=S60 V5) versions in my app, but the result of QSysInfo::symbianVersion() has curious values. I have two Nokia C7 devices (which is a Symbian^3 device), one of them has the new Qt backend (4.7) installed, the other has nothing special installed. On the first mobile I get the value QSysInfo::SV_SF_3 (the number 50) as expected, on the other mobile I get the value 30 (which is QSysInfo::SV_9_4 = QSysInfo::SV_SF_1, a.k.a. Symbian^1 (!)).
    The same value (30) is returned if I run the app on a Nokia 5230 (Symbian^1) device -> here the value 30 is OK.
    Why does the return value of QSysInfo::symbianVersion() depend on the Qt backend version? How can I distinguish between Symbian^1 and Symbian^3 in a way that works well with any Qt version?

    Thanks,
    Peter

  9. #9
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    362

    Re: how to determine Symbian version?

    Peter/Hintalo,

    try running QtInfo on the device: http://projects.forum.nokia.com/qtinfo
    (Notice that it might take same time to launch).

    What symbian versio do you see there? If it is correct there, but incorrect in your app, then I suggest you look at the QtInfo source code to see how they fetch it.

    Either way it sure sounds like some sort of bug. Are the firmware versions on the devices the same?

    It might be that is a fixed bug in the Qt. You can use Smart Installer to "force" update to newest version of Qt anyway.

  10. #10
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    329

    Re: how to determine Symbian version?

    Most likely the problem is related to QTBUG-13979.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Vienna, AUSTRIA
    Posts
    7

    Re: how to determine Symbian version?

    @teemup:
    Thanks for the hint, but QtInfo requires the Qt backend version 4.7 and I don't want to install the new Qt 4.7 backend on the ominous C7 device (where a 4.6 backend is installed) because the problem would be immediately gone and I couldn't analyse it. Instead, I looked into the QtInfo main code and inserted more logs in my app (with the values similar to QtInfo) so the bug is now identified. Summary of the values that the three devices delivered:

    Nokia 5230 (S^1):
    Qt version: 4.6.3 (build: Jun 2, 2010)
    QSysInfo::symbianVersion(): SV_9_4 (30) (OK)
    QSysInfo::s60Version(): SV_S60_5_0=SV_9_4 (30) (OK)

    Nokia C7 (S^3) with Qt 4.6 backend:
    Qt version: 4.6.4 (build: Aug 17, 2010)
    QSysInfo::symbianVersion(): SV_9_4 (30) (NOT OK!)
    QSysInfo::s60Version(): SV_S60_5_2=SV_SF_3 (50) (OK)

    Nokia C7 (S^3) with Qt 4.7 backend:
    Qt version: 4.7.3 (build: Mar 29, 2011)
    QSysInfo::symbianVersion(): SV_SF_3 (50) (OK)
    QSysInfo::s60Version(): SV_S60_5_2=SV_SF_3 (50) (OK)

    So the bug exists in Symbian Qt 4.6.4 backend and concerns Symbian^3 devices, and seems to be fixed in the new 4.7.3 backend.
    The simple workaround is to use the method QSysInfo::s60Version() instead of symbianVersion(), as s60Version() gives back correct values on both Qt backend versions.

    @treinio: Exactly, this problem is identical to the QTBUG-13979, which is IMO, unlike to the comments in this bug-report, a valid bug.

    thanks,
    Peter

  12. #12
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    362

    Re: how to determine Symbian version?

    Actually the bug report linked to another one http://bugreports.qt.nokia.com/browse/QTBUG-13802
    Which was fixed in 4.7.1.

    I suggest you use the work around or preferably always use the latest Qt version to avoid such compatibility issues in future.

    Is there a reason for not using the 4.7.x?

  13. #13
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    જુનાગઢ - India
    Posts
    3,034

    Re: how to determine Symbian version?

    I believe because of Qt 4.7.x apps are not accepted by Ovi Store. May be i am wrong.

  14. #14
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    362

    Re: how to determine Symbian version?


  15. #15
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    જુનાગઢ - India
    Posts
    3,034

    Re: how to determine Symbian version?

    Hehehehe... Thanks for updating me...

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2010-01-21, 10:24
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-08-31, 06:19
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-08-27, 15:57
  4. How To Determine SDK version for my fone
    By quaspam@yahoo.com in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-10-16, 01:25
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-08-02, 14:08

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×