×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    62

    QA fails when the tester's phone network setup is bad?!

    In two cases so far I've had QA fail on what sounds like problems with the networking setup on the phones they used. Stuff like "unable to connect" issued by the native browser.

    I just tested again to make sure I didn't miss anything, and it works as expected. I resubmitted the same build, leaving a comment telling them it's their network setup.

    Has anyone else had the same? What did you do?
    Last edited by jrez; 2011-05-05 at 15:12.

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,020

    Re: QA fails when the tester's phone network setup is bad?!

    Hi,
    have you tried sending them a friendly email telling that you could not reproduce the error?
    The lines above are the best I have to offer.If anyone of you is of more advanced knowledge, I ask for your patience and understanding! - unknown arab poet
    http://www.tamoggemon.com - Symbian blog - Windows Phone blog
    My other blogs:
    webOS blog iPhone blog BlackBerry blog Samsung bada blog Android blog

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    62

    Re: QA fails when the tester's phone network setup is bad?!

    I added a QA comment saying it sounds like a native error message unrelated to the app, that a repeat test on my side was fine again, and that it's probably bad network setup on their phone. I resubmitted with no changes and it passed.

    I don't remember now what the other similar case was, but I think it may have passed on resubmission too.

    I can't say for sure what the problem was. I can understand tester errors and different interpretations by different testers, but my impression here was that it was tested by someone not familiar with the phone platform.

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,020

    Re: QA fails when the tester's phone network setup is bad?!

    Hi,
    wrong toilet - the file comments are IMHO not visible to Mr QAman.

    Send an email to the support.... email adress, and they can see it.
    The lines above are the best I have to offer.If anyone of you is of more advanced knowledge, I ask for your patience and understanding! - unknown arab poet
    http://www.tamoggemon.com - Symbian blog - Windows Phone blog
    My other blogs:
    webOS blog iPhone blog BlackBerry blog Samsung bada blog Android blog

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    13

    Re: QA fails when the tester's phone network setup is bad?!

    Quote Originally Posted by jrez View Post
    In two cases so far I've had QA fail on what sounds like problems with the networking setup on the phones they used. Stuff like "unable to connect" issued by the native browser.

    I just tested again to make sure I didn't miss anything, and it works as expected. I resubmitted the same build, leaving a comment telling them it's their network setup.

    Has anyone else had the same? What did you do?
    I faced the same problem thrice, I mentioned in the comment that this error is due to lack of valid access point saved in the internet settings, and they must check by opening www.google.com in their phone before testing my application. At the same time I mailed to ovi support team too. I don't know from where OVI is recruiting such geeks who wants to test network based app without a valid network setting and fail it with full confidence just to make that 8 business days 16 :-)
    Nature is the best Architect and Humans are one of "HER" best creation. . .

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,020

    Re: QA fails when the tester's phone network setup is bad?!

    Forward me details of this correspondence please so that I can escalate.

    tamhan at tamoggemon point com
    The lines above are the best I have to offer.If anyone of you is of more advanced knowledge, I ask for your patience and understanding! - unknown arab poet
    http://www.tamoggemon.com - Symbian blog - Windows Phone blog
    My other blogs:
    webOS blog iPhone blog BlackBerry blog Samsung bada blog Android blog

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    13

    Re: QA fails when the tester's phone network setup is bad?!

    Quote Originally Posted by tamhanna View Post
    Forward me details of this correspondence please so that I can escalate.

    tamhan at tamoggemon point com
    Sorry for replying late. What details you want, their names will work ? and shall I post the details here or send it to you through mail ?
    Nature is the best Architect and Humans are one of "HER" best creation. . .

Similar Threads

  1. [moved] OVI QA process for WRT apps
    By rafiton in forum [Closed] Publishing to Nokia Store
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-02-26, 23:48
  2. Access point Pop-up when MIDP Apps access Network
    By pushpradhan in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-12-11, 17:44
  3. Does anyone have the service API on their computer??
    By redfuse in forum [Archived] Flash Lite on Nokia Devices
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-10-20, 15:15
  4. enums should have their numeric values in the documentation
    By svdwal in forum Tools and SDK Feedback (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-08-15, 20:24
  5. List of MMS phones plus their capabilities
    By jmsalvo in forum General Messaging
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1970-01-01, 02:00

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •