×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    12

    Question how can i change supl.nokia.com to other

    hi,
    i develope nokia location app, i wanna to change positioning server to supl.google.com. but when start location app,the nokia 5800 musicexpress shutdown.
    i try to found any solutions for resolved this, hundreds web pages are read. I can't found someone resolved that .
    anyone tell me what's happening?
    i have close OVI map auto start , and close OVI map positioning function.
    i try another positioning server ,like sls1.sirf.com suplcn.sirlf.com and so on. nokia positioning sample can't work.
    otherwise, google map for s60 5th work fine whenever positioning server is supl.google.com or supl.nokia.com .
    i wanna to know, how google map can use supl.google.com and the mobil doesn't shut down.
    Help,help

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    12

    Re: how can i change supl.nokia.com to other

    perhaps i ask thisi question is too difficulty.
    google map always get the position more faster,accuracy.
    i just wanna to know how supl.nokia.com work, can I make my app work like google?

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    2,326

    Re: how can i change supl.nokia.com to other

    You are developing application in Symbian, Java, Qt ??? Which platform ?

    What you actually want ?

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    12

    Re: how can i change supl.nokia.com to other

    i develope symbian by carbide c++ .
    Carbide.c++ Version 2.7.0
    Build v201007151415_86

    and i can develope qt program. but i didn't find any solution for changing position supl server .
    is API existed?
    -akoo

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    12

    Re: how can i change supl.nokia.com to other

    i found that supl.nokia.com ping need 500 ms. another supl server like supl.sirf.com is less than 50ms.
    and horizontalaccuracy is different between supl.nokia.com and supl.google.com.
    so , i wanna change position supl server to suple.google.com. after change ,reboot(or not),lanch the positioning app, device power off. i test many times In my xmusic 5800.

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,689

    Re: how can i change supl.nokia.com to other

    Right now, in 2011, these are competitor solutions, and as such they can not be replaced partially (using Google positioning services via Nokia positioning API-s). If you want Google / CSR, you will have to get/create the support library for that.
    Side note: Carbide.c++ is a really clever text editor, but it does not matter at all. What you are using to compile the application, is the SDK, probably the one for S60 5th edition. But it does not matter either, the SDK and the device do not contain built-in support for 3rd-party positioning services.

Similar Threads

  1. How can i change Text of Other Applications?
    By aminry in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-03-21, 09:21
  2. How to Open BT com port in app, use BT com port in other apps?
    By frostybeard in forum Bluetooth Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-10-24, 06:51

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×