×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    62

    Task Manager in Qt Quick

    I'd like to write a very simple task manager - just listing open apps and being able to close them - using Qt Quick. Is this possible? Are the necessary API calls accessible from QML or is Qt C++ a better option?

    Many thanks

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: Task Manager in Qt Quick

    Hi,

    Yes, It is very much possible using qt+qml.

    QML can be used to create excellent UI but I think thr is no direct api in qml to list down running process etc.
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    62

    Re: Task Manager in Qt Quick

    Thanks for the response, kkrish. That's what I was worried about So you can confirm there are no necessary API calls from QML to list/close running processes etc?

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: Task Manager in Qt Quick

    thr is no such API, but you can write them in qt and call them from qml.
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    62

    Re: Task Manager in Qt Quick

    So it's possible to write the required methods (getProcesses(), terminateProcess() etc.) in Qt C++ and then access these methods in my QML code?

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,024

    Re: Task Manager in Qt Quick

    Hi Infms.
    Of course you can! You can read more about that at [1]
    or [2].

    http://www.ictbusiness.it/cont/news/...e/27243/1.html
    http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.7-snapshot...qml-components

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    62

    Re: Task Manager in Qt Quick

    Thanks gnuton, I'll give it a try!

Similar Threads

  1. packaging QT application on Maemo - icon in task manager?
    By davidmct in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-08-10, 11:06
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-10-26, 21:22
  3. application in task manager
    By ganenko in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-09-01, 10:43
  4. Hide app in Task Manager
    By oper6600 in forum Symbian
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-09-01, 16:30
  5. Problem appearing in Task Manager
    By alcopops in forum Symbian
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-03-13, 11:36

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×