×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,230

    Cool How to run a Qt application on s60 3rd edition mobiles

    I have a well working Qt application working on 5th edition mobile. This application is related to live streaming based content.
    Iam able to just install the Qt application but nothing happens when clicked on it.


    what Qt SDK is needed to install qt application on s60 3rd edition deveices. Which Qt SDK to be used i.e Qt creator etc?

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,481

    Re: How to run a Qt application on s60 3rd edition mobiles

    If I remember correct, 3rd ed devices are not supported any more.
    Previously there was support for 3rd ed Fp1 & Fp2 but now it is gone.
    You can try to check with old SDK if some of these works for Fp2 devices from this link ftp://ftp.qt.nokia.com/qtsdk/

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    362

    Re: How to run a Qt application on s60 3rd edition mobiles

    Qt 4.6 is needed to 3rd edition devices.

    If you intent to target those, you should do your development with 4.6.x Qt. See: http://developer.qt.nokia.com/wiki/Support_for_Symbian -> Device Configurations

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    10

    Re: How to run a Qt application on s60 3rd edition mobiles

    I can see there are build options for Symbian^1, Symbian^3 and Symbian Belle in QtCreator.
    But my mob device is S60 3rd Edition(N86 8MP). So im not even able to build it for *.sis file.
    I can build using MSVC2008 and get *.exe files.
    If i cannot create apps with QtCreator for lower versions, what is the way around for developing in symbian for lower versions?

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    10

    Re: How to run a Qt application on s60 3rd edition mobiles

    My QtCreator is 2.3.1 based on Qt4.7.4.
    So, should i degrade my Qt. How do i do that?
    After that if i want to target higher versions also, i should again upgrade it?

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    362

    Re: How to run a Qt application on s60 3rd edition mobiles

    When you go to "projects" tab, what Qt version do you see in Symbian Device -> Build configuration?

    If you don't see 4.6.x and it is not available in the drop down list, then you need to install it.

    1. Go to Help->Start Updater.
    2. Select package manager and press NEXT
    3. Here find:
    Qt SDK -> Development Tools -> Symbian Toolchains -> Symbian^1 SDK -> Qt 4.6.3


    updater.jpg
    (Don't mind the row I have selected - didn't notice it was highlighted when taking the screenshot)

    And check that box.

    Be sure not to un-check any of the options here or do any other changes. Your view might be different from mine. Just make sure you check that one more item.

    4. Press NEXT
    5. Press UPDATE

    After downloading the update you should have option to change the Qt Version to 4.6.3.
    You should also make sure your Device has the Qt libraries installed.

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    362

    Re: How to run a Qt application on s60 3rd edition mobiles

    Continuing.

    You can find where to install the Qt libraries on device from here:


    updater2.jpg

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    10

    Re: How to run a Qt application on s60 3rd edition mobiles

    Thanks teemup for that elaborated description.
    I did as you mentioned, but still hitting all those previous roadblocks.
    When build in 4.6.3, it asks for CODA application; when CODA application run, it is not compatible with my mob device(its N86 8MP, S60 3rd edition)
    When i tried to install Qt4.6.3 on symbian^1 to my mob device, it says not standalone package.
    Then i noticed during updater it says 4.6.3 for symbian^1.
    Is s60 3rd edition, symbian^1? bcos i read somewhere only 5th edition corresponds to symbian^1.

  9. #9
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    362

    Re: How to run a Qt application on s60 3rd edition mobiles

    You are right.

    I should have double checked this before posting.
    You should instead use the TRK for Symbian FP1 or FP2 for debugging.
    Out of the cold I'm not sure if this works for newest Qt Creator or not.

    It seems that there should be a separate SIS for 3rd edition devices as you reported the Symbian^1 does not work.

    Please notice that even in best case not all devices will work and 3rd edition Qt is somewhat unsupported.
    I will ask around about what is the current situation with obtaining Qt libraries for 3rd edition FP1 and FP2 and post here when I find out.

    But as a pre-warning: it will be a rocky road :/

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    10

    Re: How to run a Qt application on s60 3rd edition mobiles

    I have the TRK also on my mob device, and its connected, but still asks for CODA application.
    Thanks for extending your continued support. I really appreciate it.
    If at all this is impossible in QtCreator, what way do you suggest to develop in symbian for 3rd edition s60?

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    10

    Re: How to run a Qt application on s60 3rd edition mobiles

    Meanwhile, im trying to develop an application in QtCreator itself for the other versions, where can i find help to develop and design?

  12. #12
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,230

    Re: How to run a Qt application on s60 3rd edition mobiles

    I have tried updating my Qt SDK but Iam not finding install Qt 4.6.3 on symbian 1 device even now . My present is Qt creator is Qt Creator 2.3.1 Based on Qt 4.7.4 (32 bit)

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    10

    Re: How to run a Qt application on s60 3rd edition mobiles

    I did with the same one. Are you sure you selected package manager instead of update components(default)?
    and the path is exactly defined in the screenshot, though it looks a bit different.
    But there is no use of doing it. Its for Symbian^1. s60 5th edition only corresponds to Symbian^1.
    s60 3rd edition doesnt.

  14. #14
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    362

    Re: How to run a Qt application on s60 3rd edition mobiles

    Ok, so it turns out what mahbub stated in first reply was correct, and that 3rd edition endeed is gone from the SDK.

    What would should do is get: ftp://ftp.qt.nokia.com/qtsdk/Qt_SDK_..._v1_1_2_en.exe
    From the FTP site.

    Install that, and don't run the Updater. There you should be able to use the Symbian^1 toolchain to run in 3rd edition.
    This version of the SDK uses the TRK instead of CODA.

    If you intent to continue development of 3rd edition, you should keep this Qt Creator around.

    I made this mistake as it turns out this "feature" in the new SDK is not well documented at all.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    10

    Re: How to run a Qt application on s60 3rd edition mobiles

    I installed v1_1_1.
    It doesnt ask for CODA, but im getting the following.

    Starting application...
    Could not start application: General OS-related error
    Finished.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-10-14, 11:23
  2. Can we do Slideshow project for S60 3rd edition mobiles
    By revathi_srikrishna in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-02-14, 09:49
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2008-07-26, 17:15
  4. jB5 HTML Browser for 3rd edition S60 Mobiles
    By vinayakak in forum News and Announcements
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-10-16, 06:47

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×