Discussion Board

Hybrid View

Question Bluetooth midlet client to find a service by service name?

Hi,

I have a Bluetooth server which advertise a service in RFCOMM with a service name as "my_service" nothing more than this. I have to connect to this service by using a midlet (j2me) and send just a string.

I'm new in Java world. I found lots of bluetooth example client/server from net. All of them the the same concept is having a UUID and attributes. So far no API or example of connecting to by service name. Only as follow:-

DiscoveryAgent.searchServices(int[] attrSet,UUID[] uuidSet,RemoteDevice btDev, DiscoveryListener discListener);

Is there any way/API to discover bluetooth service by name?
    Do it now! Today will be yesterday tomorrow - MadSum

Nokia Developer Expert

Re: Bluetooth midlet client to find a service by service name?

Hi,

Unfortunately, the UUID is needed in the Service Discovery Process so you cannot skip it.

Take a look at this link for more info:

http://library.developer.nokia.com/i...58ED8BA4D.html

A very simple example code, that does exactly what you need (connect to a server and send a message) can be found here:

http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...ice_in_Java_ME
    http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...ces_in_Java_ME

Is there a reason why you need to connect to a service by name? You may consider the UUID as a very long "name" for your service.

I found these example before. But the problem is that:-

Server advertise the service name as by connServiceName. But client never uses any service name to discover the service. Client only use UUID.

The server is already made in such a way using qt c++ api. There are other client in different platform such as memo, meego, symbain, ios, etc having bluetooth interface and api. Thus I would like to add j2me as a supported platform as well. Just wondering is it possible at all to discover service just by service name in j2me?

Nokia Developer Expert

Yes that is correct,