Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Raw tag access

Raw tag access

Hello,
    This question should probably have gone under something like NFC for dummies / complete noobs, but I've looked under such and questions were very different..
    So here it is

[my platform is qt & N9]

I want to read a tag, suppose its an NFC tag. What I really want is a raw access - that is, I want to read that tag as I'm pleased, interpret raw bytes(words) myself as I know what they are.
    Can I do this with the NFC technology?

I see this information:
    http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...opment-with-qt

where it says: "No raw, tag-specific access on MeeGo Harmattan...."

What does this really mean? Is this what i want - the 'raw' access? How can 'raw' access be 'tag-specific' ? Is 'tag-specific' referring to word/block memory sizes, sector sizes, etc?

If the phone's hardware reader can read an NFC tag, why would I not get raw access to it?
    If it can read lines or files, I should be able to read raw bytes/blocks too?

Thanks to anyone with an answer in advance

Super Contributor

Re: Raw tag access

Hi,
    There is some thing mentioned in this page about Harmattan,
    http://doc.qt.nokia.com/qtmobility-1...nd-limitations
    Connectionless LLCP sockets (both client and server).
    Tag type specific access.

I am not MeeGo person hence I forward this to the person who has written the blog.

Nokia Developer Champion

With the N9, you can read the raw payload of a tag and interpret it yourself. See for example the Nfc Info app, which shows how to parse Smart Posters, business cards or MIME/image NDEF messages based on the raw data of the records. So you do see the whole byte array stored in the message on the tag.