×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    9

    Question platform request with symbian ^ 3- C7 device

    Hi ,
    Kindly i have a problem with platform request symbian^3 with C7 devicve,
    the problem is: when i call platformRequest("www.yahoo.com");
    the message shown is "allow application to use network and sent or receive data?", and two option for select [ yes or no].,if i press yes , the my url is open, but if i press no and try to call the same request nothing happened !!, and i must restart my application to allow connect to my url, please advice for this issue, or if any other way to open browsers from J2me , my application use platformrequest method for open URL, i need other way for symbian^3, or solve this problem.

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,595

    Re: platform request with symbian ^ 3- C7 device

    Hello walid.abdallah.ahmed,

    good point, thank you for providing the information.

    The reason for why nothing happens is that ConnectionNotFoundException gets thrown every time after the first 'No' is selected by end-user.

    I will raise this as an error towards RnD.

    Regards,
    r2j7
    [URL="http://library.forum.nokia.com/java"][B] >>> Java Developer's Library <<<[/B][/URL]
    [URL="https://www.developer.nokia.com/Resources/Support/Technical_support.xhtml"] [B]>>> Technical Support for Java ME development <<<[/B][/URL]
    [URL="https://publish.ovi.com/info/"][B]>>> Nokia Publish: reach millions of Nokia users worldwide through Nokia Store <<<[/B][/URL]

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,595

    Re: platform request with symbian ^ 3- C7 device

    Hello walid.abdallah.ahmed,

    sorry for the delayed response.

    Could you double check whether the following settings are in place on your C7-00?:

    -Browse via Menu->Settings->Application manager->Installed apps and long press your MIDlet which uses the platformRequest().
    -select Suite Settings from the list.
    -check whether the Security warnings are set to 'User defined'. If not, change it to that.
    -make sure that Network access is set to 'Ask every time'.

    With the previous settings done, the access with platformRequest should work as expected.

    Regards,
    r2j7
    [URL="http://library.forum.nokia.com/java"][B] >>> Java Developer's Library <<<[/B][/URL]
    [URL="https://www.developer.nokia.com/Resources/Support/Technical_support.xhtml"] [B]>>> Technical Support for Java ME development <<<[/B][/URL]
    [URL="https://publish.ovi.com/info/"][B]>>> Nokia Publish: reach millions of Nokia users worldwide through Nokia Store <<<[/B][/URL]

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    9

    Re: platform request with symbian ^ 3- C7 device

    Hello r2j7
    sorry for the delayed response.
    it is work now
    thanks and best Reagrds

Similar Threads

  1. platform Request
    By sonia1986 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 2010-12-02, 07:35
  2. Platform request on Windows Mobile device
    By iparrot in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 2010-05-26, 15:18
  3. N97 and Platform Request
    By dakoz in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2009-11-20, 06:59
  4. tel: platform request
    By Paranoid_Android in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-04-16, 17:08
  5. Platform Request API?
    By flyscorpio in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-06-19, 11:26

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •