×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    26

    Question how much latitude and longitude accuracy can be used in J2ME ?

    Criteria cr = new Criteria();
    // Required Accuracy is set to 100 Meters
    cr.setHorizontalAccuracy(100);
    LocationProvider provider = LocationProvider.getInstance(cr);


    what is the minimum meters that can be used for this accuracy function ? Can I use 5 meters for more accuracy ?

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,553

    Re: how much latitude and longitude accuracy can be used in J2ME ?

    I'd say that this is probably unnecessary to use at all. It will not give you more accuracy, but it will give a hint to the system in choosing a location provider (e.g., to choose between whether it uses network positioning or a GPS, depending on what the device supports), but doesn't really guarantee anything.

    If you ignore it (do not use/set this at all, but leave at default), you will probably get the most accurate position that the device can handle (maximum/best accuracy, whatever it is). You won't really know how accurate the position really is (or isn't, as it may be). In other words, when you set the value, you just present a developer's wish/desire to the system, but whether it actually has any impact on the results is implementation-dependent (and as far as I know, no Nokia documentation publishes what kind of logic Nokia's implementations use in this respect).

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    26

    Re: how much latitude and longitude accuracy can be used in J2ME ?

    Thanks for your quick reply sir.

    so do you mean that i should keep it like this ?

    cr.setHorizontalAccuracy();

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,553

    Re: how much latitude and longitude accuracy can be used in J2ME ?

    You don't need to use cr/Criteria() at all, is my opinion: LocationProvider provider = LocationProvider.getInstance();

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    26

    Re: how much latitude and longitude accuracy can be used in J2ME ?

    can you please help me to find that link in Nokia Documentation ?

    I am sorry as I am getting addicted to forums.

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,553

    Re: how much latitude and longitude accuracy can be used in J2ME ?


  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    26

    Re: how much latitude and longitude accuracy can be used in J2ME ?

    Thank you very much sir

Similar Threads

  1. set latitude and Longitude
    By sridharbandi in forum Symbian
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-12-27, 06:35
  2. getting latitude and longitude
    By arun09 in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-06-13, 13:39
  3. Latitude/Longitude on map
    By piterr1410 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2008-07-08, 16:55

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×