×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    21

    How to prevent multiple instances of Qt Quick based app on Harmattan ?

    My application is a Qt Quick based app, and failed in QA of Store.
    SUMMARY: The application opens multiple instances.
    STEPS TO REPRODUCE:
    1. Launch the application.
    2. Suspend the application in the background.
    3. Select the application icon again to relaunch the applicaiton.
    ACTUAL RESULTS: A second instance of the application is launched.
    EXPECTED RESULTS: There should only be one instance of the application, and focus should return to the application when selecting the icon for a 2nd time.
    How to detect another instance in Qt enviroment?

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Thanks every body!
    I work it out,
    Just need to modify XXX_harmattan.desktop file to "Exec=/usr/bin/invoker --type=d -s /opt/XXX/bin/XXX",
    then the invoker will keep the application only one instance, and this method work ok only on N9 device, on the QEMU , it has no effect.

    Please note, by using with invoker, the "main" function must be exported by "Q_DECL_EXPORT" instruction,
    otherwise, the application can't be launched by touching the icon of desktop.

    ref: http://developer.qt.nokia.com/wiki/S...n_Applications

    :-D
    Last edited by rocjohn; 2012-01-16 at 08:46. Reason: got answer
    www.rocjohn.com

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: How to prevent multiple instances of Qt Quick based app on Harmattan ?

    Check the link, it is well describe. I hope this will be helpful to you.
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    449

    Re: How to prevent multiple instances of Qt Quick based app on Harmattan ?

    http://harmattan-dev.nokia.com/docs/...einstance.html

    Please check this link if you are developing for Meego Harmattan.

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    8

    Re: How to prevent multiple instances of Qt Quick based app on Harmattan ?

    Quote Originally Posted by kusumk View Post
    http://harmattan-dev.nokia.com/docs/...einstance.html

    Please check this link if you are developing for Meego Harmattan.
    A better link to the full documentation:
    http://harmattan-dev.nokia.com/docs/...html/main.html

    Note that you need to adjust the --type attribute according to the type of your application. If your application is a Qt Quick Components application based on the template generated by the QtSDK, it would be --type=d. Other possible values are q, m, and e.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    166

    Re: How to prevent multiple instances of Qt Quick based app on Harmattan ?

    I have shared my experiences here, It might help as well

    http://kunalmaemo.blogspot.com/2011/...harmattan.html
    http://kunalmaemo.blogspot.com/

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    21

    Re: How to prevent multiple instances of Qt Quick based app on Harmattan ?

    Thanks every one!
    Last edited by rocjohn; 2012-01-16 at 15:33.
    www.rocjohn.com

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    21

    Re: How to prevent multiple instances of Qt Quick based app on Harmattan ?

    Thanks every body!
    :-D
    Last edited by rocjohn; 2012-01-16 at 15:33.
    www.rocjohn.com

Similar Threads

  1. Multiplay application instances on Harmattan
    By vladest in forum Nokia N9
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-12-07, 18:53
  2. Harmattan Qt Quick Components in Creator QML designer
    By svlasov in forum [Archived] Qt Quick
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-08-26, 12:40
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-07-30, 21:49
  4. How to run multiple instances of an application?
    By dg@cowlark.com in forum Symbian
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2008-11-27, 20:28
  5. Create Multiple instances of the same exe.
    By kdurga in forum Symbian
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-08-11, 09:10

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×