Discussion Board

Need tips on my current problem.

I'm developing a multiplayer game through bluetooth and this is my first project.
    My questions are:

1. Is it ok to create enemy during runtime? I mean lots of enemies that shoots lots of bullet too w/ animation w/ images having sizes ranging from 5-10 kb per sprites?
    2. How many millisecond does the thread needs to wait?
    3. I have two mobile phone, (1)one nokia 5310 XM and (1) nokia 5730 XM , I know 5730 is more powerful compared to 5310, but when running the game 5310 is faster especially when I test the bluetooth connectivity.

Sorry for my bad english but hope you can help me. Thanks!

Nokia Developer Expert

Re: Need tips on my current problem.

Have you checked our Battleships game example? It's a simple multiplayer bluetooth game.

Nokia Developer Moderator

Mikpeson: although he does not mention it, the 5310 and his other threads suggest that the platform is Java ME.
    1) I am not sure what you mean on 'create', but according to 3) your game actually works, so it is probably Ok
    2) Wait for what? If you mean for updating the game state, it might be better to use a Timer

Note that there are downloadable examples on this site, including some games. Visit 'Resources' above, select 'Code examples', then pick 'Java' as technology.

Regular Contributor

I'd also like to add that it sounds alarming if you plan to have separate sprite graphics for all bullets and enemies.
    If the entities share the same graphics, then there is no reason to duplicate them in the memory.

Quote Originally Posted by wizard_hu_ View Post
    Mikpeson: although he does not mention it, the 5310 and his other threads suggest that the platform is Java ME.
    1) I am not sure what you mean on 'create', but according to 3) your game actually works, so it is probably Ok
    2) Wait for what? If you mean for updating the game state, it might be better to use a Timer