×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    104

    Qt Creator crashes on debug

    Hi,

    I have a problem when debugging applications on actual device. When I walk through code, doesn't matter where a breakpoint is set, I get a segmentation fault when the program stops at the break point.

    Here's an example when trying to debug one of example apps:

    This error happens often:

    Code:
    >&"set displaced-stepping on\n"
    >67^done
    >&"set mem inaccessible-by-default\n"
    >68^done
    >&"mem 0x00400000 0x70000000 cache\n"
    >69^done
    >&"mem 0x70000000 0x80000000 cache ro\n"
    >70^done
    >&"set remotecache on\n"
    >71^done
    >&"target remote 127.0.0.1:2222\n"
    >~"Remote debugging using 127.0.0.1:2222\n"
    >&"warning: limiting remote suggested packet size (131072 bytes) to 16384\n"
     limiting remote suggested packet size (131072 bytes) to 16384
     
    >=thread-group-started,id="i1",pid="42000"
    sThread group i1 created
    dTaking notice of pid 42000
    >=thread-created,id="1",group-id="i1"
    sThread 1 created
    >~"0x00000008 in ?? ()\n"
    >*stopped,frame={addr="0x00000008",func="??",args=[]},thread-id="1",stopped-threads="all"
    >72^done
    sSetting breakpoints...
    dSetting breakpoints...
    <73-break-insert -h -f "\"main.cpp\":6"
    I get this error with shared libraries on nfcchat example, not on other applications that crash though.
    Code:
    >=library-loaded,id="sqlite3.dll",target-name="sqlite3.dll",host-name="sqlite3.dll",symbols-loaded="0",thread-group="i1"
    sLibrary sqlite3.dll loaded
    >&"warning: Could not load shared library symbols for 29 libraries, e.g. QtCore.dll.\nUse the \"info sharedlibrary\" command to see the complete listing.\nDo you need \"set solib-search-path\" or \"set sysroot\"?"
     Could not load shared library symbols for 29 libraries, e.g. QtCore.dll.
     Use the "info sharedlibrary" command to see the complete listing.
     Do you need "set solib-search-path" or "set sysroot"?
    >&"\n"
    >~"From        To          Syms Read   Shared Object Library\n"
    >~"                        No          QtCore.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          QtGui.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          libc.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          QtNetwork.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          QtScript.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          QtSql.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          QtXml.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          QtXmlPatterns.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          libdl.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          libm.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          libpthread.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          libssl.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          libstdcpp.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          libz.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          qts60plugin_5_0.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          sqlite3.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          QtNetwork.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          QtScript.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          QtSql.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          QtXml.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          QtXmlPatterns.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          libdl.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          libm.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          libpthread.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          libssl.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          libstdcpp.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          libz.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          qts60plugin_5_0.dll\n"
    >~"                        No          sqlite3.dll\n"
    >79^done
    >80^done,BreakpointTable={nr_rows="2",nr_cols="6",hdr=[{width="7",alignment="-1",col_name="number",colhdr="Num"},{width="14",alignment="-1",col_name="type",colhdr="Type"},{width="4",alignment="-1",col_name="disp",colhdr="Disp"},{width="3",alignment="-1",col_name="enabled",colhdr="Enb"},{width="10",alignment="-1",col_name="addr",colhdr="Address"},{width="40",alignment="2",col_name="what",colhdr="What"}],body=[bkpt={number="1",type="hw breakpoint",disp="keep",enabled="y",addr="0x004000aa",func="getFontHeight(const QString &, const int)",file="C:/Qt_ws/nfcchat/main.cpp",fullname="C:/Qt_ws/nfcchat/main.cpp",line="6",times="0",original-location="\"main.cpp\":6"},bkpt={number="2",type="hw breakpoint",disp="keep",enabled="y",addr="0x0040016a",func="main(int, char **)",file="C:/Qt_ws/nfcchat/main.cpp",fullname="C:/Qt_ws/nfcchat/main.cpp",line="35",times="1",original-location="\"main.cpp\":35"}]}
    >81^done,stack=[frame={level="0",addr="0x0040016a",func="main",file="C:/Qt_ws/nfcchat/main.cpp",fullname="C:/Qt_ws/nfcchat/main.cpp",line="35"}]
    <82-stack-select-frame 0
    <83bb options:fancy,autoderef vars: expanded: typeformats: formats: watchers:
    >82^done
    >&"bb options:fancy,autoderef vars: expanded: typeformats: formats: watchers:\n"
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    dNOTE: INFERIOR RUN REQUESTED
    dState changed from InferiorStopOk(14) to InferiorRunRequested(10).
     --- token barrier ---
    dNOTE: INFERIOR RUN REQUESTED
    dState changed from InferiorStopOk(14) to InferiorRunRequested(10).
    sStep next requested...
    <84sal next,0x40016a
    <85-exec-next
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
     Thread 5398 stopped: 'Exception': A code abort exception has occurred accessing 0x0.
    >~"Ignoring packet error, continuing...\n"
    >~"\nProgram received signal "
    >~"SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.\n"
    >~"0x00000000 in ?? ()\n"
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    I'm currently developing on Parallels virtual machine running Windows 7 that has only qt development, phone drivers and firefox installed on it. I also tried on a PC with windows 7 and had the same problem. Phone is Nokia C7 with CODA version 4.0.23, I'm using the latest version of QT SDK.

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,167

    Re: Qt Creator crashes on debug

    which device crashes, you should always check the panic code: http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...ded_panic_code it often helps on solving the actual reason behind the crash.

    Anyway, do make sure that you do have all required Qt dependencies (and right versions) installed in the device, basically when using Qt without having Smart installer installation, you do get the sis installed, even when some dependencies would be missing.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    104

    Re: Qt Creator crashes on debug

    Hi,

    I'm using Nokia C7:
    Symbian Anna
    Sw. version: 022.007
    Sw. version date: 2011-05-19
    Custom version: 022.007.00.01
    Custom ver. date: 2011-05-19
    Product code: 059D8K6
    Type: RM-675

    On phone I have installed the following .sis files:
    QMLViewer-4.7.4-for-Anna-Belle.sis
    Qt-4.7.403-for-Anna.sis
    QtWebKit-4.8.1-for-Anna.sis
    QtMobility-1.2.1-for-Anna.sis
    QtQuickComponents-1.1-for-Anna-Belle.sis
    NokiaAnalyzeTool-1.14.0-for-Anna.sis

    I also installed Panic observer from here, the application that I'm using to debug why SDK is crashing is latest version of nfcchat from here.

    The behaviour is the following. As soon as application stops at a breakpoint I get this message on debug window:

    Code:
    Stopped at breakpoint 1 (1) in thread 1.
    <36-stack-list-frames
    >&"info shared\n"
    >&"warning: Received too much data from remote target; ignoring overflow.\n"
     Received too much data from remote target; ignoring overflow.
     
    >&"warning: while parsing target library list: unclosed token\n"
     while parsing target library list: unclosed token
     
    >~"No shared libraries loaded at this time.\n"
    >34^done
    >35^done,BreakpointTable={nr_rows="1",nr_cols="6",hdr=[{width="7",alignment="-1",col_name="number",colhdr="Num"},{width="14",alignment="-1",col_name="type",colhdr="Type"},{width="4",alignment="-1",col_name="disp",colhdr="Disp"},{width="3",alignment="-1",col_name="enabled",colhdr="Enb"},{width="10",alignment="-1",col_name="addr",colhdr="Address"},{width="40",alignment="2",col_name="what",colhdr="What"}],body=[bkpt={number="1",type="hw breakpoint",disp="keep",enabled="y",addr="0x0040016a",func="main(int, char **)",file="C:/Qt_ws/nfcchat/main.cpp",fullname="C:/Qt_ws/nfcchat/main.cpp",line="35",times="1",original-location="\"main.cpp\":35"}]}
    >36^done,stack=[frame={level="0",addr="0x0040016a",func="main",file="C:/Qt_ws/nfcchat/main.cpp",fullname="C:/Qt_ws/nfcchat/main.cpp",line="35"}]
    <37-stack-select-frame 0
    <38bb options:fancy,autoderef vars: expanded: typeformats: formats: watchers:
    >37^done
    >&"bb options:fancy,autoderef vars: expanded: typeformats: formats: watchers:\n"
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    <39bb options:fancy,autoderef,partial,tooltiponly vars:tooltip.666d expanded: typeformats: formats: watchers:666d23746f6f6c7469702e36363664
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
     Thread 1209 stopped: 'Exception': A code abort exception has occurred accessing 0x0.
    >~"Ignoring packet error, continuing...\n"
    >~"\nProgram received signal "
    >~"SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.\n"
    >~"0x00000000 in ?? ()\n"
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    >~"Ignoring packet error, continuing...\n"
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    >~"Ignoring packet error, continuing...\n"
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    >~"Ignoring packet error, continuing...\n"
    eNAK: Retransmission requested
    I don't even have to step, Retransmission requested goes up for about half a minute then QT Creator crashes. This happens on every computer I have available, with other applications also.

    Any ideas? Let me know what info I can provide to solve this.

Similar Threads

  1. How to debug QT app on S60 emulator in Creator?
    By TheSham in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-12-24, 10:05
  2. Cannot debug using N8 / Qt Creator
    By Sulistas in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-10-11, 09:33
  3. Debug via emulator in Qt Creator on MacOS
    By nuthon in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-03-31, 10:33

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×