×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    42

    How do I create different versions of my app with QtCreator?

    I have my app on Nokia Store, but now I'd like to make a Lite version of it. what is the best way of doing it?

    So far I have found nothing but a hint on wordpress source code maybe I didn't enter the right search terms. I would appreciate a blog entry or demo code.

    In wordpress they do this:

    TEMPLATE = subdirs
    SUBDIRS = src

    Then there is a .pro in src, that's all I have been able to find... It's a starting point but I'm wondering if I should make two subdirectories MyApp and MyAppLite or if I can stick to one.

    Thanks in advance

    EDIT: so far, I have copied MyApp.pro to MyAppLite.pro in the same directory and added this:
    DEFINES += LITE_VERSION
    DEPLOYMENT.display_name = "MyApp Lite"

    to MyAppLite.pro and it seems to work. But for know both projects override each other when launched, which might be a good or bad thing, i'm unsure of that yet.
    Last edited by dlorre; 2012-02-14 at 10:04.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    449

    Re: How do I create different versions of my app with QtCreator?

    Hi,

    If you are using harmattan, then you can mention the version information in the control file in the qtc_pcakaging/debian_harmattan dir which is created by QT creator.

    Documentation of how to edit control file is at -

    http://harmattan-dev.nokia.com/docs/...plication.html

    Where you can check editing the version number. (1.0.0 or other)

    If you are developing for symbian, you should provide the version information in the .pro file of your project.

    you also mention if its a partial upgrade and other details in the .pro file only. Let me check the link that gives these details

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    362

    Re: How do I create different versions of my app with QtCreator?

    I would keep it as single project.
    When building LITE version you would just add/remove the Define for the Lite version.

    And since you have already defined, you can vary different elements

    Code:
    contains(DEFINES, LITE_VERSION) {
    DEPLOYMENT.display_name = "MyApp Lite"
    }
    else {
    DEPLOYMENT.display_name = "MyApp"
    }
    You will want to use a different UID for the lite version:

    Code:
    symbian {
    ...
    contains(DEFINES, LITE_VERSION) {
    TARGET.UID3 = your UID for Lite
    }
    else {
    TARGET.UID3 = your UID for Full version
    }
            
    ...
    }
    Then inside your code you could do the standard

    Code:
    #ifdef LITE_VERSION
    //Lite version code
    #else
    //Full version code
    #endif

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    42

    Re: How do I create different versions of my app with QtCreator?

    Thanks, one file seems better indeed. By the way, is it possible to localize the DEPLOYMENT.display_name?

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    362

    Re: How do I create different versions of my app with QtCreator?

    Yes it should be possible.

    There is .pro file Config:
    Code:
    CONFIG+=localize_deployment
    You have to be familiar with the basic concept of internationalization.
    Please see:
    http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.7/qmake-va...reference.html
    http://developer.qt.nokia.com/doc/qt...alization.html

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    42

    Re: How do I create different versions of my app with QtCreator?

    Thanks I was almost there, but that part was missing XD!

    To sum up what I did:
    -------------------------------------
    DEFINES += LITE_VERSION
    DEPLOYMENTFOLDERS =
    symbian {
    CONFIG += localize_deployment
    ICON = MyApp.svg
    languages="&EN,FR"
    DEPLOYMENT.installer_header=0x2002CCCF
    contains(DEFINES, LITE_VERSION) {
    TARGET.UID3 = my lite uid
    }
    else {
    TARGET.UID3 = my full uid
    }
    vendorinfo = "%{\"My Name\",\"My Name\"}"\
    ":\"My Name\""
    my_deployment.pkg_prerules = languages vendorinfo
    DEPLOYMENT += my_deployment
    -----------------------------------------------------


    Then I need to edit the app name with Qt Linguist. The only problem remaining is that I need to reedit between the Lite and Full version each time I recompile, is there a solution to that?
    Last edited by dlorre; 2012-02-14 at 14:25.

Similar Threads

  1. QTCreator Doesn't Update GUI
    By ronin1770 in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-11-06, 19:06
  2. QtCreator Could not create file on device
    By Fillinger in forum [Archived] Qt SDKs and Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-08-04, 15:49
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-05-26, 11:15

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •