×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2,355

    GPS doesn't start on Symbian

    Hi,
    I am facing a strange issue. I am trying to run this app on Symbian. The app starts fine, but when I click on any of the list item , i don't see the map. It just comes up with a black screen. The GPS symbol doesn't appear on the top bar of the device screen.

    So for my confirmation I just run this code and got "NA" in place of latitude and longitude


    Code:
    Rectangle {
        id: page
        width: 350
        height: 350
        PositionSource {
        id: positionSource
        updateInterval: 5000
    
        active: true
        //nmeaSource: "nmealog.txt"
        }
        Column {
        Text {text: "<==== PositionSource ====>"}
        Text {text: "positioningMethod: " + printableMethod(positionSource.positioningMethod)}
        Text {text: "nmeaSource: " + positionSource.nmeaSource}
        Text {text: "updateInterval: " + positionSource.updateInterval}
        Text {text: "active: " + positionSource.active}
        Text {text: "<==== Position ====>"}
        Text {text: "latitude: " + positionSource.position.coordinate.latitude}
        Text {text: "longitude: " + positionSource.position.coordinate.longitude}
        Text {text: "altitude: " + positionSource.position.coordinate.altitude}
        Text {text: "speed: " + positionSource.position.speed}
        Text {text: "timestamp: " + positionSource.position.timestamp}
        Text {text: "altitudeValid: " + positionSource.position.altitudeValid}
        Text {text: "longitudeValid: " + positionSource.position.longitudeValid}
        Text {text: "latitudeValid: " + positionSource.position.latitudeValid}
        Text {text: "speedValid: " + positionSource.position.speedValid}
        }
        function printableMethod(method) {
        if (method == PositionSource.SatellitePositioningMethod)
        return "Satellite";
        else if (method == PositionSource.NoPositioningMethod)
        return "Not available"
        else if (method == PositionSource.NonSatellitePositioningMethod)
        return "Non-satellite"
        else if (method == PositionSource.AllPositioningMethods)
        return "All/multiple"
        return "source error";
        }
        }
    Could anyone please put some light on it.

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,167

    Re: GPS doesn't start on Symbian

    Maybe, You could try other examples available in there: http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu..._Maps_Examples , also do make sure you have internet connectivity on the device.

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2,355

    Re: GPS doesn't start on Symbian

    Quote Originally Posted by symbianyucca View Post
    Maybe, You could try other examples available in there: http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu..._Maps_Examples , also do make sure you have internet connectivity on the device.
    Thanks Yucca, well I am just concern with PositionSource . Just would like to know , if there is any issue with this API for Symbian. I also got this https://bugreports.qt-project.org/br...TMOBILITY-1957 . Just need some light on it.

    Let me try your examples also
    Last edited by somnathbanik; 2012-02-29 at 13:31. Reason: added

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2,355

    Re: GPS doesn't start on Symbian

    I tried MyLocationMap and see that it displays some static location. The latitude and longitude is fixed. I am trying to get my current location from GPS. But the good thing about this example is that it starts the GPS.

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,167

    Re: GPS doesn't start on Symbian

    Quote Originally Posted by somnathbanik View Post
    I tried MyLocationMap and see that it displays some static location. The latitude and longitude is fixed. I am trying to get my current location from GPS. But the good thing about this example is that it starts the GPS.
    that example is moving the map center according to GPS, just re-check it. The fixed location is onlu used there in beginniing.

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2,355

    Re: GPS doesn't start on Symbian

    something strange, when I run my app on Qt simulator, it works perfect, but doesn't works on Devices. I am using N8 with Belle

  7. #7
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,167

    Re: GPS doesn't start on Symbian

    Though you have been here long time, as well as you are our Champion.. anyway, what kind of capabilities have you defined for the project ?

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2,355

    Re: GPS doesn't start on Symbian

    Quote Originally Posted by symbianyucca View Post
    Though you have been here long time, as well as you are our Champion.. anyway, what kind of capabilities have you defined for the project ?

    Yucca, by Champion if you mean I should know this , then I am sorry, I don't know, and there are may be many things which I don't know yet.

    Here is the .pro file

    Code:
        symbian:TARGET.CAPABILITY = NetworkServices Location ReadUserData WriteUserData
        symbian: TARGET.EPOCHEAPSIZE = 0x20000 0x2000000
        DEFINES += NETWORKACCESS
    
    CONFIG += mobility
    MOBILITY += location
    I think I have added properly, it starts the device GPS but not getting the coordinates, and I see many has the same issue.
    Last edited by somnathbanik; 2012-03-01 at 11:05. Reason: added

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Noida,India
    Posts
    3,988

    Re: GPS doesn't start on Symbian

    Sometimes it gets difficult to find GPS co-ordinates if you are sitting in a closed area.

  10. #10
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2,355

    Re: GPS doesn't start on Symbian

    Quote Originally Posted by vineet.jain View Post
    Sometimes it gets difficult to find GPS co-ordinates if you are sitting in a closed area.
    Thanks Vineet,
    I am trying same application on N9 and N8 (symbian Belle) , In N9 it works fine , but in N8 it starts the GPS but no location information. On the other hand, Nokia Map, and other GPS related apps are working fine in N8 .

  11. #11
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Noida,India
    Posts
    3,988

    Re: GPS doesn't start on Symbian

    If you can write the GPS data received somewhere(if the callback back which indicates the GPS found or the time has expired), does it writes NaN?

  12. #12
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2,355

    Re: GPS doesn't start on Symbian

    Quote Originally Posted by vineet.jain View Post
    If you can write the GPS data received somewhere(if the callback back which indicates the GPS found or the time has expired), does it writes NaN?
    Yes, and I have tried that at first step #1. I am trying to QML's PositionSource like we get in MeeGo, not using Qt C++

    Any idea why its happening.

  13. #13
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2,355

    Re: GPS doesn't start on Symbian

    Thanks Guys,
    I think I found a solution just by installing my application on other N8.
    Don't know why but GPS is not working properly in this device, never thought this could be a solution.

Similar Threads

  1. From where I start symbian c++ ?
    By rahulvala in forum Symbian
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-10-14, 18:15
  2. how to start symbian C++?
    By sagars in forum Symbian
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-07-24, 19:35
  3. Can't start exe with dll on Symbian 9.1
    By SamoylovBoris in forum Symbian
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-10-25, 16:36

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×