×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    142

    Application not opening

    I am currently using s60 3rd FP2 for build application, and my application is running well on devices,
    but when i am trying to build the same application using s60 5th there is no error.
    and when i am installing on my device"nokia c5-00" ,
    and when i am trying to open application, it is not opening.
    what should changes i should made to run successfully?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    639

    Re: Application not opening

    it could be anything.... :-)
    have you already tried Y-Tasks crash monitor feature? maybe it can give usefull info to narrow down the problem
    regards
    pg

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,684

    Re: Application not opening

    Consider enabling the error messages, http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...ded_panic_code

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    142

    Re: Application not opening

    I have already enabled error messages.
    but there is no error displayed.
    and also tried Y-Tasks crash monitor from which i came to know that my main process is always killed.

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,166

    Re: Application not opening

    What is the actual line that Y-Tasks is showing ? basically what you are experiencing is that the application is crashing on start-up, and the actual error line would most likely indicate the actual reason for the crash.

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Noida,India
    Posts
    4,019

    Re: Application not opening

    I would also like to know if your application uses some special libraries etc. & also what kind of functionality is implemented in the app.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    142

    Re: Application not opening

    In crash monitor:
    Y-Tasks
    Kill:0,Kill
    Main
    Kill:0,Kill
    Main
    Kill:0,Kill

    I am trying to add long tap detector API and also using MTouchFeedback class.
    basically i want this two classes support in my application so i am switching to s60 5th edition
    and my application is not responding.
    Last edited by jayesh4456; 2012-03-09 at 09:01.

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,166

    Re: Application not opening

    vineet.jain managed to read your mind.. Basically if you get "Kill:0,Kill" it means normal exit, that would be that you would open the app, and then do exit. so if you can debug and see that no code in application is really never run, then we get to one exception where you also get this particular process exit reason. And that would be that your application is having a statically linked library which is not present in the device.

    So can you copy paste your mmp files full library include section here.

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Noida,India
    Posts
    4,019

    Re: Application not opening

    Also does this happens in 5th edition emulator as well? I think taps can be tested on emulator as well.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    142

    Re: Application not opening

    I am following this application
    http://www.developer.nokia.com/info/...r_Example.html

    Same problem is facing in this application also.

    when i am trying to develop the application using s60 -5th , my device which is "nokia-c5-00" application crash on start up.[nokia c5-00 is s60 3rd fp2 supported device]
    and when i am trying to run on device like "nokia -5233", application is working properly.[nokia-5233 is s60 5th supported device].

    so i understand that if devices is of s60 5th supported my application works, but if device is of s60-3rd fp1/fp2 it will not work.

    so my question is how should i configured so that my application works propely wheather it is S-60 5TH or S-60 3RD FP1/FP2 ,my application should work?

  11. #11
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Noida,India
    Posts
    4,019

    Re: Application not opening

    Should have checked that nokia c5-00 is an S60 3rd FP2 device, i thought its 5th ed.

    So what you are basically doing is compiling the code for S60 5th ed & testing it on a 3rdFP2 device & this is the reason you are able to compile the code,and of course S60 3rd edition devices does not contain touch support and so you are getting that error while you try to open the app.
    You can utilize AknLayoutUtils::PenEnabled(), to detect if the device is touch version or not.

  12. #12
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,166

    Re: Application not opening

    Ca you please just list the library included from your mmp file here. Vineet.jain lets wait for the list, it might already be enough for solving the problem.

  13. #13
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,684

    Re: Application not opening

    There are some low level methods for checking and using "later" API-s in "older" code, but they require some digging into .dll-s and function ordinals
    An example is here: http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...PI_Dynamically
    And a discussion is here: http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...-compatibility

    Alternatively you can also try putting the non-3rd edition code into a .dll which you try loading in runtime (with the same RLibrary API as shown in the links). If the load succeeds, you use the functions from your own .dll, if it can not be loaded, you do not use them.

    However both approaches require you to identify the problematic API, so checking the .mmp is necessary in all cases.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    142

    Re: Application not opening

    Yes exactly,
    So what you are basically doing is compiling the code for S60 5th ed & testing it on a 3rdFP2 device
    and c5-00 is S60 3rd FP2 device i have checked this thing.

    So conclusion is i must made two different build one for S60 5th devices and one for S60 3rd FP1/FP2 devices.
    Last edited by jayesh4456; 2012-03-09 at 10:41.

  15. #15
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,166

    Re: Application not opening

    I really hate repeating myself, so this is last time I ask. jayesh4456 can you please just copy-paste your library include in from your mmp file here.

Similar Threads

  1. application is not opening in mobile
    By kathir.s in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 2011-02-09, 11:40
  2. Application is not opening
    By krgvs in forum Symbian
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-02-28, 09:34
  3. Application Not Opening
    By symbians60 in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-02-28, 14:23
  4. Opening a application using URI
    By Sohil in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-02-02, 06:37

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×