Discussion Board

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Symbian Belle and libCurl

Hi there,

well, I gave up on secure sockets and thought I would try to incorporate libCurl instead. I've managed to build libCurl for Symbian and my application code seems happy enought to build. However, when I try to run on a phone the application fails to starts. So, I guess I have two questiosn here.

Firstly (and I speak as a complete newbie here), when an appilcation fails to start, is there any way of finding out why not?

Secondly, has anyone tried libCurl with Belle? As I mentioned above, the code is happy to build and all the required libraries appear to be present, so I'm hoping the failure to start is being caused by something else, but I'm prepared to believe otherwise.

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: Symbian Belle and libCurl

Enable the error messages, that may reveal something: http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...ded_panic_code
    Have you built the library as a statically linked one? If not, make sure that the .dll is also installed on the device.
    In this latter case also check the capability requirements, the .dll can not have less capabilities than the .exe.

I tried initially with curl as a dll, but when I built a sis file with the supplied pkg file it failed to install; I got an error message about a bad certificate. I'm now trying to link curl as a static library, but I'm getting linker errors. The curl code didn't come with a mmp file to create a static library, so perhaps it was never intended to be used this way.

I think the application was failing to start due to a "stupid user" error. I thought the LIBRARY command in the mmp file would link the curl library statically. I now realise that it doesn't, which is why I'm now trying the STATICLIBRARY command and getting linker errors.

Thanks for the link. I'll try that too.