×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    178

    S40 6th devices want to capture latitude and longitude values and send to my server

    S40 5th and 6th Edition devices want to capture the latitude and longitude values and send to my server
    it should done this for periodic amount of time repeatedly... The following links show some of the S40 6th edition mobile phone which has the GPS enabled phones http://www.developer.nokia.com/Devic...40&filter2=gps
    Last edited by symbianyucca; 2012-03-17 at 06:47. Reason: fixing the link

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,166

    Re: S40 6th devices want to capture latitude and longitude values and send to my serv

    you could maybe search our wiki for examples, here's one for fetching the position: http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...esult_on_a_Map

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    178

    Re: S40 6th devices want to capture latitude and longitude values and send to my serv

    Hey,
    Thanks for the Quick Reply.
    I want the S40 6th Edition Mobile phones to run the application as the service as in the background,...

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    555

    Re: S40 6th devices want to capture latitude and longitude values and send to my serv

    Hi senthil_25,

    As you correctly mention, the Location API in Series 40 is available on 6th Edition and later devices.

    An example on how to retrieve location coordinates with GPS-enabled Series 40 6th Edition devices can be found here.

    You can find more information about location retrieval in the links below:

    Location Services
    JSR-179 Javadocs
    Location Articles on this site's Wiki

    Unfortunately it is not possible to force a Series 40 application to the background as a 3rd party developer.

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bangalore , India
    Posts
    4,429

    Re: S40 6th devices want to capture latitude and longitude values and send to my serv

    @senthil_25 : Incase you are interested : The latest Series 40 devices with Java Runtime 1.0.0 supports Cell ID in Location API (JSR-179). You can simulate it in Nokia SDK for Java
    https://www.developer.nokia.com/info..._for_Java.html

    You can find the devices with Java Runtime 1.0.0 support here https://www.developer.nokia.com/Devi...vaRuntime1.0.0

    This will work fine with supported devices, which doesnt even have GPS chip on board.

    More info : Determining Current Location via Cell ID

    Regards
    Gopal

Similar Threads

  1. Get Latitude and Longitude values using network based positioning
    By DileepKumar in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2011-11-22, 20:14
  2. Display latitude longitude values on Appview S60 5th edition
    By stylofogg in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-01-25, 11:47
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-07-23, 07:06
  4. not able to get Latitude & Longitude values
    By smita.pawar in forum Symbian
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2008-10-08, 11:05

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×