×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    104

    Porting Qt 1.2 application to Qt 1.1.2

    Hi,

    I have developed a QML application using Qt 1.2 and its working fine in Symbian Anna and Symbian belle. Now I should port this application to older devices which uses Qt 1.1.2 (for example, Symbian 3 and s60 5ht edition devices)

    What is the best way to port ?? Does smart installer help to an extent ?

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
    Posts
    3,852

    Re: Porting Qt 1.2 application to Qt 1.1.2

    hello chanderk

    i guess you are not using any specific QML components which are release with the Qt SDK 1.2 than your app should work without any problem.

    But if i see you might have used Qt Quick Component 1.1 for Symbian Anna and Belle and thats not available for S60 5th Edition Devices, their you need to change something in your code.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    449

    Re: Porting Qt 1.2 application to Qt 1.1.2

    Hi,

    Smart installer would support but with some limitations

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    104

    Re: Porting Qt 1.2 application to Qt 1.1.2

    Thanks guys !

    @gaba88: I am using the components like PageStackWindow, ToolBarLayout, Scrollbar etc..

    Based on the limitations listed in http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...taller_support, I understand that my application will work only in symbian belle and anna devices.

    To make it work in s60 5th edition devices, I should write the above components without using readymade stuff. Am I right ?

    Thanks
    http://celluleus.blogspot.com

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
    Posts
    3,852

    Re: Porting Qt 1.2 application to Qt 1.1.2

    Hello Chanderk,

    Yes you got me correct, for example Qt Quick Components 1.0 are available with S60 5th Edition Devices and you need to use QML Components available there to make your application run on those devices.

    Like There is window component, ToolBarLayout and ScrollBar are still supported in Qt Quick Component 1.0

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    104

    Re: Porting Qt 1.2 application to Qt 1.1.2

    Hi,

    Thanks. I have uninstalled Qt 4.7.4 and intstalled 4.7.3 to continue developing for s60 5th edition devices.

    Here is my code sample

    import QtQuick 1.0
    import com.nokia.symbian 1.0

    CommonDialog {
    id: errorDialog
    property alias errorText: error.text
    property alias titleText: errorDialog.titleText
    buttonTexts: [qsTr("OK")]
    content: Text {
    id: error
    width: parent.width - 20
    height: 60
    wrapMode: Text.WrapAtWordBoundaryOrAnywhere
    anchors{
    left: parent.left
    leftMargin: 10
    }
    color: "white"
    }
    }

    I always get an error like module "com.nokia.symbian" is not installed

    Am I allowed to use this package for s60 5th edition devices ??

  7. #7
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
    Posts
    3,852

    Re: Porting Qt 1.2 application to Qt 1.1.2

    Hi chanderk,

    i guess Qt Quick Components are not installed in your machine, you can go to the Qt Sdk Package Manager and please check there is the components are installed or not.

    If not than try to update them and than again test your app.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    104

    Re: Porting Qt 1.2 application to Qt 1.1.2

    Nope. I have tried it several times. No help . In fact, If I Install Qt components Qt creator even complains QtQuick 10 not found

    Btw, the limitation says

    "All S60 3rd (3.1/3.2) and 5th Edition devices Qt Quick Components is not supported on these devices. Note: S60 5th Edition devices support Qt 4.7 which contains Qt Quick. In S60 5th Ed. however, Qt Quick Components are currently not supported. "

    Can anyone explain this ?? What is Qt Quick (supportd for s60 5th edition) and what is Qt quick components (not supported in s60 5th edition)..

    I understood from the above limitation that, Qt quick components like Page, CommonDialog, Button, etc.. cannot be used when you are developing for s60 5th edition devices. All you can use is the list of QML elements listed in here. Am I right ?

    Thanks,

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
    Posts
    3,852

    Re: Porting Qt 1.2 application to Qt 1.1.2

    Hello Chanderk,

    Yes you are correct, i tried this on my Qt SDK and it complains about the same, but if you try that on a device with Qt Quick Components 1.0 installed than it should work for you.

    I am checking why it doesn't work on Qt SDK.

    Regards,
    Gargi

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    104

    Re: Porting Qt 1.2 application to Qt 1.1.2

    Thanks,

    What do you mean by

    if you try that on a device with Qt Quick Components 1.0 installed than it should work for you.

    Should you install Qt quick components separately in your phone ?? Any links for instruction ?? does smart installer takes care of installing these components when I install my application with smart installer package ??

    Thanks

  11. #11
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
    Posts
    3,852

    Re: Porting Qt 1.2 application to Qt 1.1.2

    Hello Chanderk,

    Sorry for the bit of confusion and to clear it out i went back to http://labs.qt.nokia.com/2011/11/08/...ymbian-update/ and read it all over again.

    Which says S60 50th Edition Devices support Qt Quick 1.0 and they dont support any of the Qt Quick Components version, so that means if you want to use Qt Quick Components in S60 5th Edition the only way is as Qt Quick Components are open source you need to take the source code of that and need to use the files with your source code along with Qt Quick 1.0

    I hope things are bit clear now. :-)

Similar Threads

  1. Porting Qt application code for windows mobile application
    By anshuman2008 in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-06-23, 13:22
  2. porting application from S40 to S60
    By vikashpoddar in forum Series 40 & S60 Platform Feedback Archive
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-05-01, 11:50
  3. Application Porting
    By logesh.kandasamy in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-09-25, 17:37
  4. Application Porting
    By dadooo in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-03-31, 23:15
  5. Application porting
    By lab1348 in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-06-10, 19:50

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×