×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    10

    blink screen when refresh list

    Hi i need some help. Im developing a chat for s 40.

    When i want to refresh the list of new msg the aplication refresh ALL HTML and a blank screen is showed for a few seconds until new html is loaded.

    This happens only when the number of elements in the list is more than 16. Of course in chat app we need the histori of chats.

    I need to refresh the <ul> or <div> tags without refresh the rest of elements.

    how can i do that?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    441

    Re: blink screen when refresh list

    Hi

    Partial html update can be done only with AJAX , please check sample application video course. Here they attached the source code as well. Ask more details if you need.
    Last edited by izinin; 2012-08-14 at 09:46.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    10

    Re: blink screen when refresh list

    yes of courser im using ajax but not work

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    441

    Re: blink screen when refresh list

    Ok ,

    1. please go through the sample from the video. Make sure it is working for you
    2. then change requested source to yours and verify whether you have faced cross-domain request problem : basically you can make http request only within your domain otherwise it will not work without any sign -- no response back. But you can get javascript from any domain and that feature is a workaround

    That cross-domain http request problem is quite common -- google for solution or ask me for more info. Check jQuery --- it has already embedded mechanism to make cross-domain request with ajax but LIMITED to http GET

    UPDATE : apparently Series 40 WEB local emulator allows cross-domain requests but cloud emulator does not.
    this code below does not work in browser as it should not , but works on Series 40 WEB local emulator --- that is a bit confusing

    Code:
    	$.ajax({
    	    url: 'http://news.bbc.co.uk',
    	    type: 'GET',
    	    success: function(res) {
                    var html = '';
    	        var headline = $(res.responseText).find('a.tsh').text();
    	        html += '<li>' + headline+ '</li>';
    			$('#list').html(html);
    	    },
                error: function(jqXHR, textStatus, errorThrown) {
    	           $('#list').html('<li><b>ERROR</b>: '+textStatus+'</li>');
    	    }
    	});
    Regards,
    Igor
    Last edited by izinin; 2012-08-15 at 13:39.

Similar Threads

  1. How to Make the Screen Blink
    By nmnir3 in forum Symbian Media (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-11-24, 08:22
  2. Refresh whole screen
    By Lord Ryj in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2009-11-14, 12:48
  3. Blink Screen
    By asdfghjkl_asdfghjkl in forum Symbian C++
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-07-04, 14:01
  4. How to refresh a list
    By PankajNeve in forum Symbian C++
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-07-19, 12:45
  5. screen blink
    By sznever in forum Python
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-02-14, 15:33

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •