Discussion Board

Nokia 6300 throwing a "NullPointer" for Wrapped J2ME Games

Hi All,

I am new to this great community of developers, and am writing on behalf of our team here, who is struggling to get a client's "advertisement" code (injected into a J2me game at the start of the game) run on various devices properly.

The normal "adv code" flow in the wrapped/ Ad-injected J2ME games is as follows:-

When the "Wrapped" Game loads on Device, it
    1. Prompts the User to confirm access to an "Untrusted" Application, then - we say "Yes"...
    2. Prompts the User to confirm (YES/ NO) on the "This game requires data connection. Do you want to enable it?" Screen [--> "Yes" would do a client Ad Server Call; "No" would call the real Game directly], -- we say "Yes"...
    3. The above Http Get call returns an XML in response, which is parsed for a few critical elements.
    4. The Ad Image (GIF/ PNG/ JPG) is fetched from Ad Server after taking the Image URL from the above XML Response via another Http Get call.
    5. Gifdecoder.java is used to enable display for devices that do not natively support GIF.
    6. During the Steps (3), (4), and (5) [last one if applicable) --> the User sees ""Please wait while Game is loading..." on the Device Screen.
    7. The Ad Image is seen with 2 soft-buttons at the bottom :: "Go To Ad" and "Launch Game", and set to sleep for 5 sec while waiting for User Action on these 2 buttons Or PointerRelease Or KeyRelease.
    8. Clicking on "Launch Game" shows up a new screen called "Connect Screen" with a few more buttons (CustomItems).

On a Nokia E71 and different Emulators -- We DO see the entire flow above working fine, including launching the real game from the subsequent "Connect Screen" buttons. All Good.