×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6

    How to display Nokia Maps.

    Hi, I am just learning J2ME. Can any one tell me why the code below fails to display a map but insteady displays a blank screen:



    /* HelloMapMidlet */
    * To change this template, choose Tools | Templates
    * and open the template in the editor.
    */
    package simo.map;

    import com.nokia.maps.common.ApplicationContext;
    import javax.microedition.lcdui.Display;
    import javax.microedition.midlet.MIDlet;

    /**
    * @author simon
    */
    public class HelloMapMIDlet extends MIDlet{


    public HelloMapMIDlet()
    {

    }

    public void startApp() {
    // Get your own app_id and token by registering at
    // https://api.developer.nokia.com/ovi-api/ui/registration
    ApplicationContext.getInstance().setAppID(" ");
    ApplicationContext.getInstance().setToken(" ");


    Display display = Display.getDisplay(this);
    MyMapCanvas hellomap = new MyMapCanvas(display, this);

    display.setCurrent(hellomap);

    }


    public void pauseApp() {
    }

    public void destroyApp(boolean unconditional) {
    }
    }





    /* MyMapCanvas*/
    * To change this template, choose Tools | Templates
    * and open the template in the editor.
    */

    /**
    *
    * @author simon
    */
    /*
    * To change this template, choose Tools | Templates
    * and open the template in the editor.
    */
    package simo.map;

    import com.nokia.maps.common.GeoCoordinate;
    import com.nokia.maps.map.MapCanvas;
    import javax.microedition.lcdui.*;
    import javax.microedition.midlet.MIDlet;
    /**
    * @author simon
    */
    public class MyMapCanvas extends MapCanvas implements CommandListener{

    private final Command EXIT = new Command("Exit", Command.EXIT, 1);
    protected MIDlet midlet; // for notifyDestroyed

    public MyMapCanvas(Display display, MIDlet midlet) {
    super(display);

    this.midlet = midlet;
    addCommand(EXIT);
    setCommandListener(this);

    getMapDisplay().setZoomLevel(10, 0, 0);
    getMapDisplay().setCenter(new GeoCoordinate(52.5, 13.4, 0));
    }

    /*
    public void paint1(Graphics g){
    paint(g);
    }
    */
    public void commandAction(final Command c, Displayable d) {
    if (c == EXIT) {
    midlet.notifyDestroyed();
    } else {
    commandRun(c);
    }
    }

    protected void commandRun(Command c) {

    // handle any other command
    }

    public void onMapUpdateError(String string, Throwable thrwbl, boolean bln) {
    // add code for update error handling
    }

    public void onMapContentComplete() {
    // add code for content updated handling
    }

    }

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Timisoara, Romania
    Posts
    19

    Re: How to display Nokia Maps.

    Because of that:
    Get your own app_id and token by registering at
    // https://api.developer.nokia.com/ovi-api/ui/registration
    You need to register for accesing Nokia Maps API and you need to provide AppID and Token in code

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6

    Re: How to display Nokia Maps.

    Even when I include the AppID and Token, the map is not display but only displays the word "NOKIA" at the bottom.

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Noida, India
    Posts
    3,087

    Re: How to display Nokia Maps.

    Try to reduce the Zoom level and try to display different co-ordinates.
    thanks,
    ~Amitabh
    (Champion of the Month -Aug'13)
    Follow me on my blog for Innovative Mobile Apps

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6

    Re: How to display Nokia Maps.

    I tried changing co-ordinates and zoom level but there was no change. it only displays the word "0.20KB" at the top right corner, zoom symbols: "+" and "-" in the middle and the word "Nokia" on the bottom-left corner. The map lines are not displayed.

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,166

    Re: How to display Nokia Maps.

    Also, please download the latest 1.1 Maps, you appear to be using some older version (the intialization is actually different)

    Get the latest from: http://www.developer.nokia.com/Devel...I_for_Java_ME/

    Note that the code in: https://www.developer.nokia.com/Deve...tting_started/ is incorrect, instead use code from: https://www.developer.nokia.com/Deve...Code_examples/

    More examples can be found from: http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...PI_for_Java_ME

Similar Threads

  1. Alternatives for nokia.maps.map.Object.destroy() for removing Polygon from Display?
    By tommituura in forum [Archived] Maps API for Javascript
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-12-21, 12:33
  2. how can i, create a nokia.maps.map.Polyline using a nokia.maps.routing.Manager?
    By upixsoul in forum [Archived] Maps API for Javascript
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2012-05-30, 15:54
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2012-04-20, 09:25
  4. Is there a way to convert Maps Data from Nokia Maps 3 to be compatible with N Maps 2
    By dimchopicha in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2011-01-09, 17:50
  5. Navigation route coordinates from Nokia Maps or Ovi Maps
    By selimsolmaz in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-03-04, 10:02

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×