×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    25

    Cool Carbide c++ doesn't pre-check the syntax error

    the carbide c++ v3.2 doesn't check the syntax until the code was built. I mean when you change the code, until you press the build button, it's doesn't warn or suggest any thing.
    an other example:
    Code:
    class MyBase{
       public:
          MyBase(int a){
          }
    }
    class MyDerived:public MyBase{
    }
    int E32main(){
    MyDerived tem;
    }
    carebide doesn't warn that error will happen if that code were built.
    Is there any plug in which could help me do that. (the suggestions of carbide is too low).
    my carbide version is express edition. may the developer edition could help me do that. if so, could you tell me how to upgrade to the developer edition?

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,734

    Re: Carbide c++ doesn't pre-check the syntax error

    Quote Originally Posted by harunaga View Post
    the carbide c++ v3.2 doesn't check the syntax until the code was built. I mean when you change the code, until you press the build button, it's doesn't warn or suggest any thing.
    ...
    carebide doesn't warn that error will happen if that code were built.
    Is there any plug in which could help me do that. (the suggestions of carbide is too low).
    Honestly said I have not seen such feature in C/C++ environments. Yes, I know that Java tools do it for example.
    my carbide version is express edition. may the developer edition could help me do that. if so, could you tell me how to upgrade to the developer edition?
    Carbide.c++ is completely free starting from its version 2.0, you can pick any configuration when you are installing it. In fact I do not think there would be any express edition for 2.x and 3.x. Re-installing Carbide.c++ will not teach it validating C/C++ code anyway, that feature would come from Eclipse CDT (http://www.eclipse.org/cdt/), and not even the latest version has such feature. "Build automatically" is the closest thing you can get, it rebuilds the project whenever you save a source file. It is extremely disturbing in my opinion even on a fast machine with lots of RAM.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,980

    Re: Carbide c++ doesn't pre-check the syntax error

    Try 2 ways below

    1.Press key F5 after you altered the code;
    2.Close the file you edit and reopen it.

    If it still doesn't pre-check ,I also think it's a bug.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    25

    Question Re: Carbide c++ doesn't pre-check the syntax error

    Quote Originally Posted by r60600 View Post
    Try 2 ways below

    1.Press key F5 after you altered the code;
    2.Close the file you edit and reopen it.

    If it still doesn't pre-check ,I also think it's a bug.
    how to make it's built automatically, mine is not yet.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    25

    Re: Carbide c++ doesn't pre-check the syntax error

    how to add suggestion for the keyword this in carbide
    when I type th, carbide don't suggest the keyword "this"
    the same happen to keyword "void"
    how to fix this
    thanks.
    Last edited by harunaga; 2013-01-22 at 18:17.

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,734

    Re: Carbide c++ doesn't pre-check the syntax error

    It seems to be an Eclipse-thing, as it does not work reliably for Java either, most keywords are not completed. If you really need these things, you can add templates (Window, Preferences, C/C++, Editor, Templates). A specific thing about Symbian is that most of the types are not part of the language, but coming from header files, and thus completion of TInt and similar Symbian C++ types works fine.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    25

    Re: Carbide c++ doesn't pre-check the syntax error

    thanks. template really solved my problem.
    but my carbide is still build automatically after I save my code ( please see my picture). how to fix this.
    just one more thing. I followed the article to use RDebug. http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu..._to_use_RDebug
    but I can't find the Debug Message Console. how can I filter the output from emulator. just the info I want to print from RDebug:rint
    I only find the emulator program output console and It prints too many things to the console.
    I works with Carbide 3.3.0 and there is no "view process output" and "Debug message" to enable.
    thanks in advance.
    Last edited by harunaga; 2013-01-23 at 18:29.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    639

    Re: Carbide c++ doesn't pre-check the syntax error

    Quote Originally Posted by harunaga View Post
    but my carbide is still build automatically after I save my code ( please see my picture). how to fix this.
    there are some settings under Window->Preferences:
    General->Workspace
    C/C++ -> Build
    Carbide C++ -> Build

    regards
    pg

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    25

    Re: Carbide c++ doesn't pre-check the syntax error

    thanks. It works now.
    now, could you tell me how to filter the out put to the screen. when I use RDebug:rint to print debug info but the emulator out put all to the screen. I'm using carbide 3.3.

  10. #10
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,734

    Re: Carbide c++ doesn't pre-check the syntax error

    There do not seem the be too much built-in settings about the Console, as you must have noticed, it is controlled in Window/Preferences/ Run/Debug /Console
    Anyway, this topic fits better to http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...to-IDE-console
    Yet again, Carbide.c++ is an Eclipse-based thing, consider searching for eclipse filter console output with Google, you will find ideas.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-05-21, 06:14
  2. Carbide.c++ syntax highlighted code 'problem'
    By Mathematix08 in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-08-12, 17:12
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-04-09, 20:15
  4. Syntax highlighting problem in Carbide C++
    By noahsark in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-09-24, 17:52
  5. carbide express [syntax coloring]
    By bytesm in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-10-02, 21:31

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×