×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sertaozinho/Brazil
    Posts
    768

    getSnapshot() with different image resolutions on SDK2.0 not working in emulator

    Hi People,

    I am working on an application for S40 that uses the camera for reading QR Codes and I have tried to obtain higher resolutions pictures using the SDK 2.0/emulator.
    However, the image is always 240x320 (the screen size), no matter what I do.

    Some facts:

    - getSnapshot() only works with null parameter, if I try to add picture sizes or image formats I have an exception
    - yes, I used "System.getProperty("video.snapshot.encodings");" before to check available encodings. The response is "image/jpeg" but it is not accepted by getSnapshot()

    Is this a problem with S40 emulator ? I will try to use a real device from today but any feedback on this issue is welcome.

    Posts/Wiki entries that I have read:

    http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...ure_in_Java_ME
    http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...hlight=picture size
    http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...hlight=picture size
    http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...hlight=picture size
    http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...ht=getsnapshot
    http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...ht=getsnapshot
    http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...ht=getsnapshot
    http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...ht=getsnapshot asha

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sertaozinho/Brazil
    Posts
    768

    Re: getSnapshot() with different image resolutions on SDK2.0 not working in emulator

    Silence ... bad sign

    Could anyone confirm that getSnapshot() works with parameters on real ASHA devices (311, for example) ?

    Marcelo

    PS: Sorry for the wrong place. I started a message talking about media but it changed during writing and I finished up talking about emulator

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bangalore , India
    Posts
    4,429

    Re: getSnapshot() with different image resolutions on SDK2.0 not working in emulator

    Silence is not always a bad sign! There should be some thing cooking in the back ground!

    I wanted to try this, but got busy with some thing else. In the mean while, I checked and got confirmed that in emulator it supports only 240x320, but in the real device you can get higher resolutions.

    Regards
    Gopal

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sertaozinho/Brazil
    Posts
    768

    Re: getSnapshot() with different image resolutions on SDK2.0 not working in emulator

    Hi Gopal

    Quote Originally Posted by balagopalks View Post
    Silence is not always a bad sign! There should be some thing cooking in the back ground!
    Never, but never, underestimate a champion ...

    Quote Originally Posted by balagopalks View Post
    I wanted to try this, but got busy with some thing else. In the mean while, I checked and got confirmed that in emulator it supports only 240x320, but in the real device you can get higher resolutions.l
    I had time to test it, finally. It seems some emulator limitation at the end.
    My Asha 311 is working with additional parameters for getSnapshot().

    Thanks, Gopal.

    Marcelo

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Timisoara, Romania
    Posts
    19

    Re: getSnapshot() with different image resolutions on SDK2.0 not working in emulator

    Maybe because the emulator is actually Asha 305 ?

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bangalore , India
    Posts
    4,429

    Re: getSnapshot() with different image resolutions on SDK2.0 not working in emulator

    Quote Originally Posted by Adi.Stoicuta View Post
    Maybe because the emulator is actually Asha 305 ?
    The confirmation I have got from SDK team is, from the Emulator, captured images will be of size 240x320 - its the expected behaviour.

    Regards
    Gopal

Similar Threads

  1. getSnapShot blank image
    By iit-developer in forum Mobile Java Media (Graphics & Sounds)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2010-05-06, 11:24
  2. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2009-01-08, 12:10
  3. jsr135 highest supported camera resolutions for getSnapShot() on N95
    By garyjamessilva in forum Mobile Java Media (Graphics & Sounds)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-05-30, 21:14
  4. S60_3rd_FP1 Emulator Resolutions
    By ckasek in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-12-20, 18:38

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×