Discussion Board

Push Registry - Port Issue

I'm a beginner in mobile app development. I have created an application to send SMS from one phone to another which uses Push Registry. I have tested the app in few phones which was working well.

Recently, when I run the app with Nokia 2700, It was working for the first time. From the second time (after I delete and install the same again), it is throwing me NULL pointer exception. After few attempts, I understood that I am not able to access the PORT. So, I configured the app with different port. Even now, the app is running for the first time but not working from the 2nd time. I'm establishing dynamic connection.

I don't find any mechanism to unregister the connection since I wanted the push registry to listen for incoming messages always.

Can anybody help me with the solution?

Thanks

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: Push Registry - Port Issue

It may be a good idea checking what PushRegistry.listConnections says. Perhaps the registration survived re-installation due to some bug.
    According to http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...lication-error, Push Registry of the 2700 may not be a bulletproof thing in general.

These devices get confused quite easily when you install your MIDlet not via Internet but via Bluetooth. Therefore, I would do a full reset and install the MIDlet via Internet.

I tried the thing, what are all mentioned in that link. But that works only for Nokia s60 series, not for s40 series(2700). Help me to solve the port issue in nokia 2700.

Quote Originally Posted by wizard_hu_ View Post
    It may be a good idea checking what PushRegistry.listConnections says. Perhaps the registration survived re-installation due to some bug.
    According to http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...lication-error, Push Registry of the 2700 may not be a bulletproof thing in general.

Have you tried a software reset via the Settings?