Thread: how to start?

Question how to start?

hello

first of all i am a php,visual basic,c# programmer
    and i know some c++ basics

i am a new developer to mobile devices
    so i would like to ask some question about how to start
    and i did search but i didn't understand the answer

when i did search i found some words like sdk ,ide,eclipse i didn't understand
    i downloaded one of sdk try to understand when i try to install it
    i didn't know the eclipse folder so i press next when i try to open it
    i get error

so could any one please tell me how to start in Simple answer
    ex:
    if any one ask me about how to create a site
    i will say download any editor like notepad and any local server
    learn php and html than start
    and that what i want

what is the editor i should use
    the language
    how to make sis file
    what is the sdk ,ide and the eclipse folder
    how to know the library code i mean the phone codes like how to use camera or clock in apps

how to start ????????

and thank you
    Last edited by the developer; 2013-12-28 at 02:17.

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: how to start?

SDK=Software Development Kit. When you are programming something with Visual Basic or C#, you are already using such kits, even if they have some other name, or integrated with Visual Studio.
    IDE=Integrated Development Environment. When you are developing something, you use a text editor to create source code, some files describing how to build the project, and compilers+tools to actually execute this building process. However nowadays you have these things integrated into a single environment, like Visual Studio. That is an IDE: it has the text editor, the project management tools (plus extras, like resource editor, design tools, etc.), and compiles the project for you with a single button click.