Discussion Board

SP midi in 6100 and 3510

I have been programming midi for many years and I am currently authoring SP content professionally.
    Recently I have come up against extreme difficulty in getting files to open in the above named handsets (Nokia's 4 note range).
    I have read many, if not all of the published documents on SP midi that are available through the forum. I have tested exhaustively on the 6100 and although I can get files to work eventually - I cannot define exactly where the boundries lay between a file working and not.
    It was my understanding, especially after digesting the notes from seminars by Mr.Dolby and the like that a 'one size fits all' approach to authoring files was possible using SP midi - This, in my opinion is clearly not possible without seriously compromising the quality of ringtones.
    It appears to me that the problems with these phones are not file size related - I've had some success when reducing the amount of program change messages that I've used, but due to other tests that I've done - I know that there's more to the issue than this.
    Please can anyone tell me where I can find advanced technical data on the 6100 and/or the 3510's synth capabilities - particularly regarding limitations.

Thank You.

Super Contributor
    Hi,

You can find more detailed info about MIDI in Nokia phones from here.

Best regards,
    V / Forum Nokia

Hi enstedt,

Thanks for your reply - I guess the fact that the program table utilised in the phones is using aliases accounts for some of my inconsistent calculations, but do you know the exact upper limit of sounds that can be stored for playback on the 6100 and 3510?

Regards,

Bob Townley.

Did you ever find an answer to your question Bob?