×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    32

    Keeping the BackLight on

    Hi,
    Can anyone tell me how to keep the backlight on .
    Is it :

    DeviceControl.setLights(0, int level)


    it says level is an intensity of light from 0-100.
    Suppose i want the default intensity, how do i query
    the device for that ?

    Or is there another way to keep backlight on ?

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Finland, Tampere
    Posts
    1,113
    level - the lighting level 0-100. 0 means "off" or some other minimum lighting setting. For many devices, a value greater than 0 means "light on".

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    32
    what about the Nokia 40 series,
    whats the default level ?

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    2,280
    Like doctordwarf said. 0 is off, 1-100 is on. I still haven't seen any Nokia handsets that act differently.
    Mind you that this turns on the light for a few seconds, so if you want the lights permanently on you need to call this repeatedly in a thread.

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    121

    Thread?!

    Using a thread for the backlight would be very wasteful.

    Set the backlight on every N calls to your render loop.

    It works fine, and no threads needed.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    6

    Works on 3510i

    On the 3510i, setLights works and has several degrees of brightness.

    Still no idea what the default brightness level is.

    Tim

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    6

    Follow up

    Re my last post. Ive been experimenting and it looks like the default brightness for the 3510i is either 90 or 100.

    Anyone know how to keep the light on on a 60 series, or is it not possible?

    Tim

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    2,280
    I know that DeviceControl does nothing on a 7650. I'm not sure about the 3650.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×