×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    7

    Problem with Camera API (S60 2.0)

    I am having problems with the new camera API (ecam) on Series 60 v2.0.

    Even the most simple application using ecam seem not to work. On emulator my application is working normally, but on the device itself (6600) it wont event start.

    What I have done:
    1. took HelloWorldPlus as basis of my application
    2. included ecam.h (linked with ecam.lib (thumb/urel))
    3. In one of my functions I try to instantiate CCamera-object.
    This function is called after the user presses button.
    Result: my application doesn't start.

    Has anyone gotten Camera API functioning in the 6600?

    Every help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    371
    Hi,

    Do you have unique UID and name for your application?

    Br,
    Marko

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    7
    I am having these problems even with the HelloWorldPlus-example (with modifications descriped in the first post). Ie. I am using UID and name of the HelloWorldPlus-example.

    HelloWorldPlus-application starts and works ok until I add function that creates CCamera-object. This function is called after user presses key. Ie. not when the application is started.

    Should I use different UID and name for my application than there is in HelloWorldPlus-example? Does it matter for usage of camera?

    Could you provide me with a simple example of working camera application?

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    23
    Affirmated. I have same problem and armi/urel/ecam.lib is missing from the SDK.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    7
    Hi all and thanks for the responses.

    maokkone: Should the available SDK support camera or not?

    pmuilu: How you have tried to get camera working? Do you get your application running or does it "crash" when you try to start it?

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    371
    Hello,

    I just heard that there are some incompatibility problems with the device and the SDK, which are related to ECam. It may take some time until the problem is corrected, but the correction will be available in the Forum Nokia web site as soon as possible.

    Best Regards,
    Marko / Forum Nokia

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    7
    Hi,

    Thanks for the information. Its nice that this issue is being solved.


    Yours sincerely,
    tpikkara
    Last edited by tpikkara; 2003-11-07 at 06:52.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    47
    I've also the same issue.

    Do you have any idea when this point will be fixed ?
    It's very important for me to have an idea of the dealine of this fix.

    Regards,

  9. #9
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    371
    I am sorry, we can't say exact datas when the correction is available.

    Best Regards,
    Marko / Forum Nokia

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    47
    And just an approximate date : december, january, feb ?

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1
    I have the same problem too. I wonder it were a runtime
    link issue between ECam.lib in SDK (thumb version) and ECam.dll on the phone.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    47
    No information about the fix on the SDK or the ECam on the 6600 ?

    Nokia Expert, I'm waiting for an answer.

    Regards,

    Trick Lo.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    16
    I've just found this thread and am also having the same problem

    Does any clever person out there know how to use the camera on the 6600??

    -Patrick

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    16
    It looks as though there hasn't been any movement on this issue in over 6 months. I guess we're forced to use deprecated classes in order to access the camera - not an ideal situation.

    Nokia - is there anything we can do to speed this up?

    -P

  15. #15
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    105

    CCamera problem

    I am also hyaving a CCamera problem - I have installed the 6600 camera plugin and built the examples but they do not work. I have also written my own class to use CCamera and MCameraObserver I can instantiate a CCCamera object but any attempt to use its functions gives me an already in use dialog - am I missing something ?

    thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×