Discussion Board

MMSC configuration for Filter Application

I understand that I can configure the MMSC to send messages to a particular MSISDN to a filter application.

Is it possible to configure the MMSC to send all messages *to* or *from* a list of MSISDNs to the filter app.

In addition can the list be added to dynamically in real time.

For example for some users I want to add an logo to all messages being sent or received by that user.

Regular Contributor
    Are you talking about the Nokia MMSC? Because functionality may vary with different vendor MMSCs.

With the Nokia MMSCs, Yes... Is it possible to configure the MMSC to send all messages *to* a list of MSISDNs to the filter app. *from* MSISDNs... I think is do-able, but I've never done that before, let me investigate.

Can the list be added to dynamically?
    Hmm... *probably not*, that would be tricky. It is not a standard feature anyway.

Your example is possible for all messages being sent *to* the specified user. Infact, the MMSC has a feature like this for legacy phone support... to modify messages to phones which may not support MMS.

~quyen / Forum Nokia

Thanks for your prompt reply.

Yes it's the Nokia MMSC.

What I want is to be able to add subscribers to a service which requires their MMSs to be filtered.

There could be 10,000 or more subscribers added to this service.

Can I add numbers of this order so that messages to that number will be filtered.

If I can't do it dynamically is it possible to restart the MMSC once a day, for example, to update the list?

Thanks for your help.

Regular Contributor
    Hello again

In the message routing rules file for Application Interface, there are parameters such as "RECIPIENT ADDRESS" and "SENDER ADDRESS" which can be used to route to an application. See the configuration files guide for your MMSC.