Discussion Board

Developing for the Symbian platform

How can Nokia/Symbian expect that programming for the Symbian platform will catch on without sufficient documentation?

They obviously do not feel the need to answer questions about documentation either, e.g.:

"The Nokia 9210 SDK documentation gratiously states that the resource STRUCTs EDWIN, LABEL, IMAGE, CBA and so on and so on is not documented... Now I just cannot believe that these very basic control types that I would like to put in just about any dialog should not be documented anywhere, AT LEAST with their respective classnames and IDs. I used to be able to find it on the Symbian website (although not updated since EPOC 5?), but now it seems all gone. I am not asking about header files, I am asking about DOCUMENTATION... "

Please do help, or the world will soon have one Symbian programmer LESS. By the way; I have been programming on many, many platforms, for fifteen years now (professionally), but I have never seen anything like this...

Regular Contributor

RE: Developing for the Symbian platform

There is both SDK documentation and SDK help for 9210 in start menu. Use the SDK help and its search tab to get accurate detailed results fast.

What particular control type do you searching for?

There is CEikCheckBox used for checkbox, CEikTextListBox for listboxes and CEikScrollBar for scrollbars.
    (and more like CCknOpenFileDialog(open file dialog), CEikHorOptionButtonList (radio buttons))

They are with the same details as you found under CEikEdwin about EDWIN(few pages). For LABELS there is CEikLabel object, for IMAGE there is Class CEikImage. You will find very detailed examples, resource files in SDK help under "Control Button Array (CBA)" chapter. Also there are the link to CEikButtonGroupContainer details.

Best Regards,
    (V) - Forum Nokia Developer Support

Regular Contributor

RE: Developing for the Symbian platform

Clarification:

About GT APIs Uikon Core Controls: