Discussion Board

Thread: saving graphics

Regular Contributor

saving graphics

hello,

I am developing an drawing application (for Nokia series 60) where I need to save the graphics built on the screen by my program.

How can I do it?

Thank you in advance,
    Julia

Nokia Developer Expert
    in case you need to get the screen image, that you could do like this:

CEikonEnv::Static()->ScreenDevice()->CopyScreenToBitmap(ScreenBitmap);

For the savings, you could see SDK docs & examples.

With OS 6.1 (SDK 1.X), see CMdaImageBitmapToFileUtility class, and for OS 7.0/8.0 (SDK 2.x) see CImageEncoder class.

yucca

Regular Contributor
    Thank you for responsing. I use SDK 2.1.

Sorry for the stupid question, but I'm new in Symbian programming.

My application includes UI, View & Container files. I've added in
    UI file treatment of Save command, function SaveL in View file, and draw function in Container file.
    Do I try to use right structure???

I included fbs.h in view header and fbscli.lib in mmp.
    Also in view header CFbsBitmap* iBitmap,
    in View.cpp ConstructL(): iBitmap = new (ELeave) CFbsBitmap();
    (I'm going to use CEikonEnv::Static()->ScreenDevice()->CopyScreenToBitmap(iBitmap)
    And after adding 2 lines about Bitmap I have a lot of mistakes:
    unresolved external symbol public: _thiscall CFbsBitmap::CFbsBitmap(void) ...
    cannot open input file appname.exp etc.
    What is problem may be here???
    And for saving I shoud use something like this:
    CMdaImageBitmapToFileUtility* iFileSaver;
    iFileSaver->CreateL(KBmpFileName,&iClipFormat,&iCodec,&iCodec); ???

Nokia Developer Expert
    at least the "unresolved external symbol " is caused by the fact that the implementation of the class is not found. So check SDK docs for the needed library, add it to your mmp file and re-build your workspace. Then it should work

yucca

Regular Contributor